Research guides are curated resources organized by subject, course or topic.
Lab NEXT features a makerspace, bookable collaboration rooms, and high performance computers.
Talk to our staff through our live chat feature, we're happy to assist
Key databases for locating journal articles in the area of Greek and Roman Studies are:
History of Science, Technology and Medicine
IsisCBExplore - Extensive index to works on the History of Science
JSTOR HINT: Go to Advanced Search and limit results to Classical Studies
Other useful free resources include:
Bibliographies for Galen and Hippocates - includes information on their works and where to locate translations and commentaries
British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography
Gnomon Bibliographische Datenbank - indexes books and journals in ancient history, archaeology and philology
Hellenistic Far East Bibliography - archaeology of the Hellenistic Far East
Nikephoros Bibliography of Sport in Antiquity
Oriental Institute at the University of Chicago - Can search their catalogue - indexes articles as well as books
Nestor - bibliography of "Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields"
Regesta Imperii - catalogue of works on medieval studies (art, music, religion, philosophy, archaeology, linguistics and literature from late antiquity up to the Reformation.
Social Sciences Research Network - fulltext access to almost 500,000 papers
TOC-IN - can search tables of content for over 180 journals of interest to Classicists
Zenon Dai - index to publications on archaeology
NOTE: Many of the relevant subject databases can be useful in identifying articles on your topic:
Literature - Literature Online (LION) and Literature Resource Center provide literary criticism and reviews on writers from all time periods
Philosophy - Philosophers' Index
Medicine - Medline
Religion - ATLA Religion Database
Google Scholar and the Library search box are also good sources for locating articles, especially for interdisciplinary topics.