Skip to main content

Greek and Roman Studies: Background Information

Background Information

Cambridge Ancient History  (14 volumes)

Cambridge History of Classical Literature   -  v.1 Greek  v.2 Latin

Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome - 3 vols.

Dictionary of Greek and Roman Geography

Encyclopedia of Ancient History - 12 volumes - location

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Roman Law

Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Ancient World - 4 volumes - location

Oxford Classical Dictionary

Oxford Companion to Classical Literature

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome  -  7 volumes - location

Brill's New Pauly -selected volumes of the Pauly-Wissowa Realencyclopädie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft  are available free online.  Complete list of volumes with links to available fulltext

Thesaurus cultus et rituum antiquorum - 8 volumes - location
-  Encyclopedia of Greek and Roman rituals

Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources   -  important national dictionary for medieval Latin

LBG (Lexicon  zur byzantinischen Gräzität) 

"The LBG is the foremost lexicographical resource in Byzantine Studies mainly covering the period from the 4th to the 15th century A.D. taken from more than 3,000 texts. Seven fascicles have appeared to date, with one more scheduled to appear in 2016. When completed the dictionary will consist of more than 2,000 printed pages, containing approx. 80,000 lemmata."

LSJ: The Onine Liddell-Scott-Jones Greek-English Lexicon

Vergil l Aeneid Vocabulary
- Can search in Latin and English and display word frequency

Loading