Skip to main content

Biological Sciences

What's on this Page?

Session Goals

NCBI

OMIM  (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man) 

PubMed

Citing Your Sources

Session Goals

At the end of this session you should be able to:

  • Use the OMIM (Online Inheritance in Man) database to determine the mode of inheritance and the causative gene(s) and mutation(s) of your genetic disease topic.
     
  • Use NCBI Gene to obtain molecular biology data on the implicated gene and protein.
     
  • Find one review journal article on your genetic disease topic using the PubMed database.
     
  • Formulate a hypothesis describing the molecular basis of your genetically inherited disease topic.
     
  • Cite your sources using the Harvard Style for referencing your sources.

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)

Created in 1988, the National Centre for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) is a clearinghouse for molecular biology and genetics information. It includes links to full-text articles and numerous genetics databases including the following:

  • PubMed - The place to go for the most up-to-date peer-reviewed health and life sciences journal articles. Includes 26 million biomedical journal references dating back to the 1950's.
    (
    PubMed Tutorials)

     
  • OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man) is a continuously updated catalogue of human genes and genetic disorders. 
    (
    OMIM Help and FAQ's-Frequently Asked Questions).



Start Here! 
The Genetics Home Reference provides comprehensive information on your disease topic including related gene(s), mutation(s) and chromosomes.

 Or

Try Genes and Diseases, listed on page 2 of Lab 5. It provides useful genetic disease information.
Tip: use the lower search bar to search only the book, not all books!

 

 

OMIM Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man

OMIM - Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man <--- Use this link to connect to OMIM )
Accessing from home? Log in first! Then go to OMIM

 


OMIM is an updated catalogue of human genes and disorders which is maintained by a team of science writers and editors at Johns Hopkins University. Provides links to "NCBI Gene" for gene architecture information.

  • Each entry includes such items as a description of the gene or disease, clinical and other features, inheritance, location of gene, history, etc. Links to PubMed references are included.
     
  • OMIM can be searched using the same interface (Entrez) as PubMed.

Use OMIM to answer your task questions on pages 5-6 of your Lab 5 assignment. 
 

Secondary Links

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/omim

http://mirror.omim.org/

 

PubMed

PubMed/Entrez  <--- (Use this link to connect to PubMed/Entrez)

PubMed is a Web-based retrieval system developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine. PubMed is one of the best sources for finding articles on genetics as it includes approximately 26 million references in the health and life sciences. 

Use PubMed to locate a peer-reviewed review article relating to your chosen disease topic.

Other Biological Sciences databases or search engines include BIOSIS Previews, Scopus and Web of Science, which are accessible from the Library's Home page.

 

(Google Scholar)

 

 

Amino Acid Chart

Citing Your Literature

Journal articles and websites that you have used for your assignment must be properly cited.

Biology 311 uses the Harvard Style and consists of the following:
Check Lab 5 in D2L for more Harvard Style examples


Author(s) of article - Surname and initials. (Year of publication) Title of article, Journal Name - italicised, Volume number(Issue number (if available)), pp. Page number(s).

 

Examples:
Sueblinvong, V., Suratt, B.T. and Weiss, D.J. (2007) Novel therapies for the treatment of cystic fibrosis: new developments in gene and stem cell therapy, Clinics in Chest Medicine, 28(2), pp. 361-379.

In-text: (Sueblinvong et al., 2007)

Polineni, D., Dang, H., Gallins, P.J., Jones, L.C., Pace, R.G., Stonebraker, J.R., Commander, L.A., Krenicky, J.E., Zhou, Y.H., Corvol, H., Cutting, G.R., Drumm, M.L., Strug, L.J., Boyle, M.P., Durie, P.R., Chmiel, J.F., Zou, F., Wright, F.A., O'Neal, W.K. and Knowles, M.R. (2017) Airway mucosal host defense is key to genomic regulation of cystic fibrosis lung disease severity, American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine, [Epub ahead of print doi:10.1164/rccm.201701-0134OC].

In-text: (Polineni et al., 2017)

 

Two authors:
Roesch, E.A. and Drumm, M.L. (2017) Powerful tools for genetic modification: Advances in gene editing, Pediatric Pulmonology, 26, pp. 890-897.

In-text: (Roesch and Drumm, 2017)

Contact the Biology Librarian

Any questions, suggestions or comments should be sent to Jennifer Lee, Interim Liaison Librarian for Biological Sciences, Physics & Astronomy, and Mathematics & Statistics

Email: jelee@ucalgary.ca
Phone: 403.220.3726
Send Email

Updated September 29, 2017

The URL for this guide is http://libguides.ucalgary.ca/BIOL/BIOL311