Skip to main content

Arabic Language and Muslim Cultures

Welcome to the Arabic Languages and Muslim Cultures research guide, your gateway to the most relevant research materials you need.

Arabic Language and Literatures

Al-Waraq

An excellent site for Arabic literature, including original works.

Journal of Arabic Literature

Qatar Digital Library

archive covers modern history and culture of the Gulf and wider region,available online for the first time.

Arabic Transliteration Table

A History of Arabic Literature

Arabic Dictionaries

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Grammars, Handbooks In-Print

Interesting Facts About Arabic Language

Arabic is a Semitic language and the major language of the modern Middle East.  It is spoken by an estimated 185 million people.  The Arabic language went as far east as Iran and as far west as all of North Africa, crossing Gibraltar to the Iberian Peninsula in the early eighth century.

Arabic is classified as South Central Semitic, sharing features not only with Amharic but also with the ancient languages Geez and Akkadian. Some countries that are now home to predominantly Arabic speakers also have speakers of traditional, non-Semitic languages, such as Berber, Nubian, Kurdish, and Coptic.

            

Core Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Academic Search Complete provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and a total of more than 10,000 publications including monographs...

Bibliography of Asian Studies

References western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia.

Index Islamicus

 Index of books and periodical articles on Islam and the Muslim world.

International Medieval Bibliography

Bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.

JSTOR Journals

Offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics, as well as various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

Literature Criticism Online       

Searchable database of literary criticism collections representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Literature Criticism Online is comprised of the following 10 Gale series: Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC),

Literature Online (LION)

A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 123 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. The full text includes poetry (including Canadian), literature, and drama. Criticism and reference includes journals, the annual bibliography of english language & literature...

Oxford Scholarship Online

Oxford scholarship online currently has four subject modules: philosophy, religion, economics and finance, and political science. It offers over 700 complete and fully searchable books, with at least 200 titles to be added each year.

Internet Guides

  • Pars Times ME resource Guide
    Extensive and well organized collection of links about the Middle East. Particularly rich is its Middle East media section. Also a strong section for governmental reports of interest to political scientists and others in the social sciences.
  • Middle East Virtual Library -- Menalib
    An information portal for Middle East, North African, and Islamic Studies. It provides access to electronic fulltext materials or electronic bibliographical records of printed materials and manuscripts
    .
  • OACIS - Database of Middle East Serials
    A catalog for searching various Arabic language serials and holdings at US libraries.
  • Islamic Heritage Project
    Harvard University has cataloged, conserved, and digitized hundreds of Islamic manuscripts, maps, and published texts from Harvard’s renowned library and museum collections. These rare—and frequently unique—materials are now freely available to Internet users worldwide.

Islamic Culture

Islamic culture is itself a contentious term. Muslims live in many different countries and communities, and it can be difficult to isolate points of cultural unity among Muslims, besides their adherence to the religion of Islam

         Image result for islamic culture

Arabic Texts On-line

  • Al-Waraq
    A searchable database of several hundred classical Arabic texts
  • Al-Mostafa
    Database of downloadable PDFs of Arabic texts, modern and classical
  • Modern Egypt Library
    Alexandria library database of searchable texts
  • al-Maktabah al-Shamilah
    downloadable library, comprising thousands of Arabic texts.
  • al-Mishkat
    Searchable database of classical Arabic texts
  • Digital Persian Archive
    A database of Persian historical documents from Iran and Central Asia up to the 20th century