Citing & Writing in the Health Sciences
EndNote Web, Endnote Desktop
Working with References - use the tabs below for different ways to get and work with references
*Each database/browser may have slightly different wording and steps.*
- How to install the EndNote plug-in to enable direct export
- Select the references you need (in some databases save these to a Folder or List first).
- Look for language like Send To, Export, Cite. In some databases this is available from a Folder or List
- Choose Citation Manager, EndNote, or Direct Export in RIS Format and choose Open with EndNote online Export Helper.
See details for Direct Export from Endnote
2) Import Text Files - a database creates a file. Save and import the file to Endnote Web
*Each database/browser may have slightly different wording or steps.*
- Save database references as a text file.
- Import into EndNote using the corresponding Import Filter.
See details for Importing Text Files from EndNote.
3) Enter references manually - sometimes, you will need to type in your references by hand
See details for Entering a Reference manually from EndNote.
4) Import from Web of Science - navigate easily between Web of Science and EN to collect references
Organize references into Groups according to your research need.
An Endnote Web user can create up to 5,000 groups. A reference can be in multiple groups.
Watch the video or get details on Managing Groups from EndNote.
Check for duplicates routinely as you add references to your Endnote Web.
This can help prevent major headaches when using Cite-While -You-Write with your writing.
Under the Organize tab, use Find Duplicates to identify and delete them
Watch the video below or see Find Duplicates for more details from EndNote.
Find full text
Find the icon to get PDF's through the University of Calgary library subscription
For more details on this feature see: Full Text
- Last Updated: Nov 17, 2017 4:04 PM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/hsl/citationmanagementtools
- Print Page