Linguistics
This guide provides selected resources available to you through UCalgary Library and the Internet
Example from the "American English Dialect Recordings"
Collections
- Glottolog
Glottolog provides a comprehensive catalogue of the world's languages, language families and dialects. It assigns a unique and stable identifier (the Glottocode) to (in principle) all languoids, i.e. all families, languages, and dialects - American English Dialect Recordings: The Center for Applied Linguistics Collection
The Center for Applied Linguistics Collection contains 118 hours of recordings documenting North American English dialects. The recordings include speech samples, linguistic interviews, oral histories, conversations, and excerpts from public speeches. They were drawn from various archives, and from the private collections of fifty collectors, including linguists, dialectologists, and folklorists.
Other Specialized Collections
- World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) OnlineThe World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) is a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars) by a team of 55 authors.
- Semantics ArchiveFor exchanging papers of interest to natural language semanticists and philosophers of language
- Rutgers Optimality ArchiveThe Rutgers Optimality Archive is a distribution point for research in Optimality Theory and its conceptual affiliates. Posting in ROA is open to all who wish to disseminate their work in OT and related theories of grammar.
- UNESCO Atlas of the World's Languages in DangerVia this interface, you can browse through them, using combinations of search criteria and/or zooming in the online world map