This guide will assist researchers in locating information resources as they relate to the north.
Research Support Guides
This guide is intended to help you get started with your research on northern studies topics. If you are not sure where to start please contact Claudette Cloutier .
Northern Studiies is by its very nature, interdisciplinary. You will need to consult other subject areas for comprehensive coverage of your topic.
Canadian Studies Link to the Library's Canadian Studies web pages.
Environmental Science Link to the Library's Environmental Science web pages.
History and Culture
The Nickle Arts Museum has a good collection of works by northern artists and about the north. Search the collectionUse the subject "Inuit Art" to locate most of the items that are related to the north. If you would like to use any of the works in your research or for your class, please contact Lisa Tillotson, Registrar of the Nickle Arts Museum, at 220-4134 or email@example.com.
Special Collections has
some unique historical collections from the Arctic Institute of North
America, and the Candian Royal Commission on Energy to name a few. There
are also references to the Arctic and the North in some of the personal
archives. For assistance in accessing these collections contact Marlys
Chevrefils at 220-3608 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Access the collection
Indigenous Studies Link to the Library's Indigenous Studies web pages.
Bibliography of Native North
Indexes monographs, essays, journal articles, dissertations and government publications covering native American topics and issues, including education, anthropology, psychology, political science, sociology, and legal and medical research.
Land Claims and Self Government
Link to the Virtual Law Library for assistance in locating information on land claims settlements and self government issues.
- Last Updated: Nov 7, 2017 5:18 PM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/north
- Print Page