Skip to main content

Art & Art History: Primary Sources

Artists' Books

Special Collections - TFDL 5th floor

Phone ahead to view some of our unique Artists' Books!   The focus of the Artists' Books collection is Canadian artists.

Many of the artists' books in Special Collections can be found in the Library Catalogue by searching "artists books or N7433.4" and limiting the search to the location Special Collections.

View Women and Texts = Les Femmes et Les Textes, a past online exhibition curated by Special Collections.

How to Access Special Collections.

Rare and Historical Architecture Books

Special Collections Rare Book Collections - TFDL 5th floor

Phone ahead to view some wonderful examples of rare and historical architecture books on a variety of topics including modern, bauhaus, Canadian, and British architecture.

1. Most of the architecture books in Special Collections are catalogued in the Library Catalogue. 

  • Click here to initiate a catalogue search on keyword "architect$" limited to dates <1920, limited to SPEC COLL.  Note that there are many other architecture books in Special Collections with publication dates after 1920 as well.

2. There is also a collection of books donated by the architectural firm Rule Wynn and Rule which is not on the Library Catalogue.

How to Access Special Collections.

Nickle Arts Museum

The Nickle Galleries - 1st floor TFDL

The Nickle offers an extensive collection of contemporary art consisting of over thirty five hundred prints, drawings, photographs, paintings, sculptures and decorative art pieces, a comprehensive collection of numismatic material, mainly ancient coins of the Greek, Roman and Byzantine periods with many rare, beautiful and exotic examples of numismatic art and includes The Jean and Marie Erikson Rug Collection.

Contact staff at the Nickle to access their collections.

Canadian Architectural Archives

Canadian Architectural Archives
Centre for Arts & Culture, TFDL 5th floor

  • The largest collection of Architectural drawings, business records, photographs, slides, and models related to Modern Canadian Architecture in the world - and it's part of our resources here on campus!

The Military Museums Founders' Gallery

The Military Museums Founders' Gallery
4520 Crowchild Trail SW, Calgary

  • A public exhibition space with the goal of contributing to Canadians' understanding of our military experience in the field of human conflict by displaying historic and contemporary works of art and related artifacts.

AINA Art Collection

Arctic Institute of North America Art Collection
Contact them for new location; current location 8LT

  • Holds an art collection pertaining to early and contemporary imagery of the polar regions.