Architecture & Design

NOTE: Art resources generally include coverage of Architecture and Design.

Oxford Art Online (UofC only)
Comprised of:

Grove Art Online (key scholarly, English-language art encyclopedia)
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
The Oxford Companion to Western Art

Academic Complete (Ebrary) (UofC only)
E-book collection which includes reference books:

Art and Architecture in Canada: A Bibliography and Guide to the Literature to 1981 / Lerner, Loren and Williamson, Mary F.
Art information and the internet : how to find it, how to use it
Dictionary of Ancient Near Eastern Architecture
Dictionary of Architecture & Construction / Harris. 4th ed.  2006
Dictionary of Islamic Architecture
The Human-Computer Interaction Handbook: Fundamentals, Evolving Technologies, and Emerging Applications
The Hutchinson Dictionary of Symbols in Art
Illustrated 2000 building code handbook
Medieval Art: A Topical Dictionary
Also:
The Hutchinson Dictionary of the Arts
Hutchinson Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
The Late Medieval Age of Crisis and Revival, 1300-1500
Visual Effects in a Digital World: A Comprehensive Glossary of over 7000 Visual Effects Terms

ArtLex Art Dictionary (Web)
"For artists, collectors, students and educators in art production, criticism, history, aesthetics, and education"

CAMEO: Conservation and art encyclopedia online (Web)

Credo Reference (UofC only)
Comprised of over >300 reference books including the following in Art:

A Biographical Dictionary of Artists, Andromeda
The Bloomsbury Guide to Art
The Bridgeman Art Library Archive (primarily images)
The Bridgeman History of Science (primarily images)
The Cambridge Guide to Theatre
Chambers Film Factfinder
Critical Terms for Art History
The Encyclopedia of American Folk Art
Miller's Antiques Encyclopedia
Shakespeare's Theatre: A Dictionary of HIs Stage Context
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of 20th Century Architecture
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art and Artists
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of British Art
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Design Since 1900
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers
The Thames & Hudson Encyclopaedia of Impressionism
Time Saver Standards for Architectural Design: Technical Data for Professional Practice (2005)
Also:
Harris, Dictionary of Architecture and Construction. 3rd ed. 2000
Encyclopedia of New Media, Sage
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850
Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Human-Computer Interaction

designinform (UofC only)
Comprised of:

Design proFiles (DP): Information about more than 8,000 designers and design-related organizations that were influential in the 20th century world of design, including over 1,000 female designers.
Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR)
ReVIEW  (Selected full-text design journals)

designinform Research Guides No.1: Internet Sources of Biographical Information (Open Web)
designinform Research Guides No.2: Free-access, digitised art, architecture, design and craft journals on the Internet (Open Web)

Dictionary of Art Historians (Web)

Gale Virtual Reference Library (UofC only)
Comprised of ~90 reference works including:

Cities of the United States
Cities of the World
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Science of Everyday Things
Social Trends and Indicators

Knovel Library: Engineering, Life Sciences & Chemistry collections (UofC only)

Combines essential and authoritative reference books (such as handbooks) and databases from more than 30 Sci-Tech publishers and professional societies including, McGraw Hill, John Wiley, Elsevier, Springer, Industrial Press, American Institute of Chemical Engineers and American Society of Mechanical Engineers.  Includes reference works on building & energy efficiency; solar energy, HVAC; ASHRAE; human factors/ergonomics/anthropometry; product design, prodouct life cycle, manufacturing, robotics; materials, e.g. wood; structures, e.g. bridges, and such. Includes:

Encyclopedia of Materials 11 vols.
Encyclopedia of Smart Materials 2 vols: article Architecture p.59-67

NetLibrary (UofC only; via Ebscohost)
E-book collection which includes reference works:

Encyclopedia of Production and Manufacturing Management
Handbook of Data Mining: Human Factors and Ergonomics
Handbook of Human Factors Testing and Evaluation

Oxford Reference Online (UofC only)
Comprised of >100 reference books including the following in Art & Architecture:

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture
A Dictionary of Modern Design
A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art
The Oxford Companion to the Garden
The Oxford Companion to the Photograph
The Oxford Companion to Western Art
The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists
The Oxford Dictionary of Art
The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
Also:
The Visual English Dictionary: includes architectural diagrams

SpringerLink Books (UofC only)
E-book collection which includes reference works:

Design Dictionary (Birkhauser)
Handbook of Performability Engineering

Historical art and architecture dictionaries in: Eighteenth century collections online (UofC only)
including:

The builder's dictionary: or, gentleman and architect's companion. Explaining not only the terms of art in all the several parts of architecture, but also containing the theory and practice ... London : printed for A. Bettesworth and C. Hitch; and S. Austen, 1734.

Carter, John, 1748-1817. The builder's magazine: or, a universal dictionary for architects, carpenters, masons, bricklayers,& c. ... Consisting of designs in architecture, ... together with the plans and sections, ... The whole forming a complete system of architecture, ... By a Society of architects. A new edition. London : printed for E. Newbery; and sold by all other booksellers in Great Britain and Ireland, 1788.

Aheron, John. A general treatise of architecture. In five books. ... By John Aheron, architect. Dublin : printed for the author, by John Butler, 1754.

An introduction to the art of fortification. Containing draughts of all the common works used in military architecture, ... Also, a military dictionary, ... London : printed for and sold by John Brindley, 1745.

Rudiments of ancient architecture, containing an historical account of the five orders, with their proportions, and examples of each from antiques; also extracts from Vitruvius,Pliny, &c. ... With a dictionary of terms. Illustrated with eleven plates. The second edition, much enlarged. London : printed for I. and J. Taylor, 1794.

The rudiments of ancient architecture,in two parts. Containing an historical account of the five orders, with their proportions ... also Vitruvius on the temples and intercolumniations,& c.of the ancients ... With a dictionary of terms. Illustrated with ten plates. London : printed for I. & J. Taylor, at the Architectural Library, Holborn, 1789.

The rudiments of architecture: or, the young workman's instructor. In two parts. ... With twenty-four elegant designs of buildings, ... To which is added, the builder's dictionary : ... The third edition, corrected. .. Edinburgh : printed for G. Milln, Dundee, 1799.

The rudiments of architecture: or, the young workman's instructor. In two parts. ... With twenty-three elegant designs of buildings, ... To which is added, the builder's dictionary: ... The second edition, corrected. .. Edinburgh : printed for James Dickson and Charles Elliot, 1778.