Skip to main content

COVID-19 Updates: Due to provincial restrictions, our Contactless Pickup and Study Space/Computer Reservations have changed.

|

Contactless pickup service | Study space and computer reservation | Printing, scanning and copying services

Film Studies

Articles and Reviews

 

To find databases that could be helpful go the the Research tab and use the dropdown all subjects and select film to find other databases,  or enter film in the search for databases box to find film related databases. It is important to read the database description carefully in order to identify the best selection for your query.

To use an  Ebscohost product, eg. communication and mass media complete, expand your search to include all film/communication databases for the most complete search. 

OTHER INDEXES AND DATABASES

Film Literature Index is available in hardcopy (PN 1994 .A1F53) in the TFDL HIgh Density LIbrary,  1973-2004.To request a volume please use the request button.  Item will be delivered in 24 hours during business week. 

Film literature index online  The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001

International Index to the Performing Arts provides indexing, abstracts and selected full text for many film journals.

AFI catalog: ( Uof C only) The AFI Catalog, the premier, authoritative resource of American film information, covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976-2011. New records are added each year by the AFI's editorial team.

JStor: ( U of C only)  contains over 480 film studies journals

Project muse: ( U of C only)  covers digital humanities and social sciences.  Indexes scholarly journals from many leading university presses and scholarly societies.

 

 

Reviews Only

Movie Review Query Engine provides access to a wide range of reviews.
 
 
Educational media reviews online: a database of video, DVD, audio CD and CD-ROM reviews of materials from major educational and documentary distributors and independent filmmakers. The reviews are written by librarians and teaching faculty in institutions across the United States and Canada
 
Metacritic provides fulltext access to reviews of major North American releases.
 

Film Review Index (PN 1995 .F55 1986 -REF) indexes reviews from 1882-1985. This era predates much of the material on the Internet, so this is an essential resource, available in print only.

 

Here is a list of other indexes

To find reviews in reference titles search Subject Motion pictures - Reviews using Advanced Search

Print Page