Skip to Main Content

Libraries & Cultural Resources

Research Guides

Film Studies

Selected Online Resources

The Moving Image Source Research Guide is a gateway to the best online resources related to film, television, and digital media.
 
Internet Movie Database is a searchable database of credits and information on over 200,000 movie and tv titles.
 

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers  is a 4 volume encyclopedia covering Films (v. 1), Directors (v. 2), Actors and Actresses (v. 3), and Writers and Production Artists (v. 4). Entries include useful bibliographies. It is available online and in hard copy.(PN 1997.8 .I57 1997 - HDL)

 Media History Digital Library - Classic media periodicals in the public domain.

Film Scripts Online indexes and provides fulltext access to a number of film scripts.

For a complete list of Historical dictionaries of various national cinemas and genres click here. Below are a sample of some of the titles.     

Historical Dictionary of British Cinema  
 
Historical Dictionary of Chinese Cinema
 
Historical Dictionary of Holocaust Cinema
 
Historical Dictionary of Middle Eastern Cinema
 
Historical Dictionary of Scandinavian Cinema

Historical Dictionary of Science Fiction Cinema 
 
Historical Dictionary of Spanish Cinema
 
The Hutchinson pocket dictionary of cinema
 
Latino American cinema: an encyclopedia of movies, stars, concepts and trends

Selected Print and online Resources

Film Review Index (PN 1995 .F55 1986 - Reference TFDL) indexes reviews from 1882-1985. This era predates much of the material on the internet, so this is an essential resource.

Canadian Film and Video: a Bibliography and Guide to the Literature ebook online access provides access to both English and French literature on Canadian cinema from 1900-1989.

 

Libraries & Cultural Resources