Skip to main content

Physics & Astronomy

What's New In Reference?

Physics Today Feed

Loading

Dictionaries

Astronomy Dictionaries

Cambridge Dictionary of Astronomy
Call Number:  QB14 .M543 2007  |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block )

Dictionary of Astronomical Names
Call Number: QB14 .R66 1988  |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block )

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Astronomy
Call Number:  QB14 .M34 2003  |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block )

Oxford Dictionary of Astronomy
Call Number: Internet Access
Call Number:  QB14 .D52 2007  |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block )

 

Physics Dictionaries

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Physics
Call Number: QC5 .M178 2003  |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block)

A Dictionary of Physics 
Call Number:  QC5 .D53 2009 |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block)

Encyclopedias

Astronomy Encyclopedias

Astronomy Encylopedia
Call Number: QB14 .A875 2002  | Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block)
Excellent publication published by Oxford University Press.


Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Call Number: QB14 .E55 2001  |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block)
Comprehensive 4-volume encyclopaedia covering all aspects of astronomy and astrophysics, including many biographies

Encyclopedia of the Solar System
Call Number: Internet Access
Call Number: QB501 .E53 2007  |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block) 

Encyclopedia of Space and Astronomy
Call Number: QB136 .A55 2006  |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block)
 

 

Physics Encyclopedias

Digital Encyclopedia of Applied Physics
Call Number: Internet Access


McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Physics
Call Number:  QC5 .M175 2005 |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block)


McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology-Access Science
Call Number: Internet Accessible
Call Number:  Q121 .M3 1997  (Print Copy) |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block)
20-volume general science encyclopedia encompassing biological sciences, physics, chemistry, geology and geophysics, engineering, math, computer science, geophysics, and some biomedicine.

MacMillan Encyclopedia of Physics
Call Number:  QC5 .M33 1996 |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block)

World of Physics
Call Number: QC5 .W67 2001  |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block)
General 2-volume encyclopaedia on the main principles of physics.

Handbooks & Manuals

Astronomy Handbooks

CADC - Canadian Astronomy Data Centre
Call Number: Internet Access
Astronomical data, including Hubble Space Telescope (HST) and Canada France Hawaii Telescope (CFHT), software tools for their archives, and catalogues.

Data Book of Astronomy
Call Number: QB64 .M66 2000  |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block )
Astronomical facts about the solar system, and various types of objects in the universe.

Handbook of Space Astronomy and Astrophysics
Call Number: Internet Access
Call Number:  QB136 .Z65 1990  (Print Copy) |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block )
Includes constants, formulas, and data for topics such as x-ray astronomy, the Earth’s atmosphere, relativity, plasma physics, and instruments.

National Space Science Data Center
Call Number: Internet Access
Extensive data covering astrophysics, space physics, solar physics, lunar and planetary data from NASA space flight missions, in addition to selected other data and some models and software.

 

Physics Handbooks

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics-CHEMnetBASE
Call Number: Internet Access
Call Number:
QD65 .H23 89TH 2008/09  (Print Copy) |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block)
Data and tables of constants, conversions, symbols and terminology, including areas such as the physical properties of compounds and elements, spectroscopy, atomic, molecular, optical, and nuclear physics, and basic astronomy data.

Handbook of Physical Quantities
Call Number:  QC61 .H36 1997  |  Location:  Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block )
Includes numerical data of physical properties of materials. Each chapter covers a physical property, with an introductory text at the beginning of each.

AIP Physics Desk Reference
Call Number:  QC61 .P49 2003  |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block )
Constants and formulas for 22 topics, including general physics, astronomy and astrophysics, crystallography, medical physics, fluid dynamics, and elementary particles.

Physics Handbook: Fundamentals and Key Equations
Call Number:  QC61 .P66 1998  |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block )

Physical Reference Data 
Call Number: Internet Access

 

Astronomy Almanacs and Atlases 

Astronomical Almanac
Call Number:  QB8 .U58 A13 2006  |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block )
Observational data for the major planetary bodies and stars for all times of the year.

DSS – Digital Sky Survey
Call Number: Internet Access
A set of all-sky photographic surveys of the entire sky in several colours (in E, V, J, R, and N bands) conducted with the Palomar and UK Schmidt telescopes.

NED – NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database
Call Number: Internet Access
Like SIMBAD (below), NED provides data and bibliographic references for objects, however, its scope is extragalactic (outside of the Milky Way.)

Norton’s Star Atlas and Reference Handbook
Call Number: QB65 .N6 2004  |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block )
Star charts, reference data and practical information for amateur astronomers

SIMBAD Astronomical Database
Call Number:  Internet Access

SIMBAD (Set of Identifications, Measurements and Bibliography for Astronomical Data) contains mostly data on objects outside of our solar system. It can be used to find bibliographical references on a particular object. It contains information for 2.75 million stars and objects, including coordinates, spectral type, dimensions, observational data, and bibliographical references.

Sky Catalogue 2000.0
Call Number:   QB855 .V37 1991  |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block )
Volume 1 contains data for over 45,000 stars, of visual magnitude 8.05 and brighter, including position data, colour, and spectral information. Volume 2 contains similar information for double stars, variable stars and nonstellar objects.

SkyView
Call Number: Internet Access
A Virtual Observatory on the Net generating images of any part of the sky at wavelengths in all regimes from Radio to Gamma-Ray.

Third Reference Catalogue of Bright Galaxies
Call Number:  QB855 .V37 1991  (Print Copy) |  Location: Reference Collection (Second Floor Library Block )
Contains data on over 11,500 galaxies and objects.

Variable Star Charts
Call Number: Internet Access