Skip to main content

Physics & Astronomy: Citing and Writing

Introduction

What is bibliographic or citation management software?

This type of software enables you to organize and format your journal article citations. In conjunction with your word processing software, you are able to write, cite, and produce bibliographies. Bibliographic software has the ability to organize your work in hundreds of writing styles.

Login to Endnote

Login to Reference Manager

Login to RefWorks

 

What is a style manual?

Style manuals, handbooks or guides detail acceptable formats for citing a reference in a bibliography. Their rules apply to term papers, articles, reports and theses.

Science Style Guides - includes CSE, Harvard and IEEE   (Includes Examples)

CSE (Council of Science Editors) (Includes Examples)

Scientific style and format : the CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers   (7th Edition, 2006)
Located in Reference Collection, 3rd Floor Library Block

Online Citation & Style Guides

Zotero or Mendeley?

In addition to library sponsored citation tools such as EndNote and Refworks that help you organize your articles and publications, several free tools, Mendeley and Zotero, are also available. Both Mendeley and Zotero, offer web-based and desktop access so that you can access your documents from multiple computers and in the case of Mendeley, your iPhone, Touch and Pad. Both products allow you to import citations and create bibliographies in text documents in MS Word or Google Docs.

 

  Mendeley Zotero
Cost Free Free
Access Download from Mendeley.com account. Add-on must be installed from Zotero.com account.
Import References from databases Yes Yes
Link to PDF's and file attachments Yes Yes
Find and download PDFs Yes Yes
Share References Yes - Create a Public or Shared (restricted) collection Yes - Create a Group Library
Duplicate Detection Yes Yes
MS Word integration Yes -Install Mendeley plug-in Yes - Install Zotero plug-in
Create customized bibliographies Yes Yes
 Compatibility with other citation tools Yes Yes
PDA Compatibility Yes - iPhone, Touch & Pad App No

Subject Guide

Jennifer Lee's picture
Jennifer Lee
Contact:
Taylor Family Digital Library, 438A
Calgary, AB
T2N 1N4
403-220-3726