Archives are primary sources deemed to have ongoing value and preserved in an archival repository.
Archives derived from the Greek ' arkheion' - public records, town hall, dwelling or office of the chief magistrate
Archival records are made or received in pursuit of an activity and kept to document that activity; they are unpublished in their original form and intent; exist in a variety of analogue and digital formats.
A fonds is the aggregation of documents that originate from the same source. More specifically, a fonds distinguishes itself from a collection through its organic nature, as archival documents that have been naturally accumulated (made or received) by an individual, company, institution, etc. as a byproduct of business or day-to-day activities.
Archival material is that part of a fonds which has been appraised by archivists to have on-going value for a variety of uses and is as a result permanently preserved in an archival repository, e.g the archives at the University of Calgary, the Provincial Archives of Alberta, the National Archives of Canada, the City of Calgary Archives.
Archives described in a catalogue/database
Title: the name of the creator
Biographical Sketch/Administrative History: information on the creator
Scope and Content Note: a summary of what the material is about
Dates of Creation: the dates the material was created
Extent: how much material there is
Related materials: what other archival materials may be related in the same archives
Associated materials: what other archival material may be related in another archives
Restrictions: whether there are access/use restrictions
Location: where the material is housed
Finding aids: links to detailed listing of this material
Links: to digitized content
How are archival materials organized?
The original order of an archival fonds is maintained or restored in the archives.
The activities that the records arose from are the natural dividers, i.e. series and sub-series consisting of files and items.
The materials are not arranged in subject order as are published materials in libraries.
- Last Updated: Sep 13, 2021 3:53 PM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/cnst361archivesguide
- Print Page