Guide to key sources for research in Religion
Research Databases that include book review
NOTE the Library Search Box is an excellent resource for locating reviews. Just enter the book title and limit to articles.
America: History and Life - covers the world's scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Hint: Use Advanced Search. Enter "book review" in the "document type" field to limit results to book reviews
- ATLA Religion Database - major index to books and articles on religious studies. Hint: Choose keyword search; enter "reviews" and combine it with keywords from the title example: "reviews and Beyond phenomenology"
- Canadian Periodical Index - good source if book was published Canada. Hint: Choose keyword search; enter "book reviews" and combine it with keywords from the title example: "book reviews and flowering of the soul"
- CBCA (Canadian Business and Current Affairs) - good source if book was published in Canada Hint: add search term "book reviews" and change the drop down box to "subject"
- JSTOR -use advanced feature; then limit to "review"
- Project Muse - search for the book title, then modify search and search for "review" in title
- Periodicals Archive Online - international index to thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage is from the first issues(back to the 1700's) to 1990/1991. Hint: Select "Article Search"and limit "Search In" to book reviews
- Web of Science - indexes more than 1,300 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Hint : Go to Advanced Search and select document type "Book Review"
Religious Studies Review
Religious Studies Review: major review sources for Religious Studies
Other Religious Studies Book Review Sources
Book Reviews - General Resources
Book Review Digest
Call Number: Z1219 .B6 | Location
- covers 1905 to the present
- provides short excerpts of book reviews
Book Review Index
Call Number: Z1035 .A1 B64 | Location
- covers 1965 to the present
- provides citations only
Combined retrospective index to book reviews in humanities journals, 1802 - 1974
Call Number: Z1035 .A1 C62 | Location
- Last Updated: Jul 18, 2018 3:10 PM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/religion
- Print Page