Skip to main content

New library search launched! View new library borrowing privileges »

Religious Studies

Guide to key sources for research in Religion

Death and Afterlife

The Library has many resources on the Religous Perspectives on Death and Afterlife.  Remember that a variety of terms can be used (death, mourning, future life, reincarnation etc.) and research material can also be  found in a wide-range of related subject areas including Indigenous Studies, Medicine,  Psychology, and Sociology. 

Use  Library Search Box to locate both book and journal material.

 

Death and Afterlife: Databases

Death and Afterlife: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Death and Afterlife: Handbooks

Death and Afterlife: Images

Death and Afterlife: Videos

Death and Afterlife - Encylopedias and Dictionaries

 

Print only:
  Death and the Afterlife: a cultural encyclopedia Location

  Encyclopedia of afterlife beliefs and phenomena  Location 

  Man Myth and Magic: the illustrated encyclopedia of mythology, religion, and the unknown   Location

  The Encyclopedia of Ancient History  Location  -  includes articles on  Afterlife in Greece and Rome, Judaism and Christianity and Pharaonic Egypt

  Thesaurus cultus et rituum antiquorum - 10 volumes - location
   -  Encyclopedia of Greek and Roman rituals
   -  See V. 6 Death and Burial and v. 8 which has an addendum to the Death and Burial section

  "Death and Afterlife" in Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism  v.2  pages 479-491 - location


 

Death and Afterlife: Handbooks

 

Death and Dying in World Religions

Handbook of Thanatology: the essential body of knowledge for the study of death, dying and bereavement.

Handbook of death and dying (2 vols.)  Location

Life after death : a study of the afterlife in world religions  Location

Death and Afterlife: Databases

ATLA Religion Database

Anthropology Plus

Bibliography of Asian Studies

JSTOR

MURA -  Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Straight Islanders Studies Online Catalogue

PsycINFO

SocINDEX with Fulltext  -  major index to sociological articles
 

Death and Afterlife: Images

Death and Afterlife: Videos

Films on Demand -  over 4,000 streaming videos

Ethnographic Video Online

See also Library Catalogue for videos on DVD and VHS.

Print Page