Religious Studies
- Home
- Sacred Texts/Primary Sources
- Encyclopedias - General Religious StudiesToggle Dropdown
- BibliographiesToggle Dropdown
- Theses
- ContactToggle Dropdown
Citing Sources
It is importantly to clearly and consistently cite your sources. There are a number of citation tools.
Background Sources for Indigienous Spiritualities
American Indian Religious Traditions: An Encyclopedia (3 volumes) - Location
Encyclopedia of Religion - see articles such as North American [Indian] Religions: History of Study
Native American Spirituality: A Critical Reader
See also "Aboriginal Knowledge and Spirituality" - links posted by the BearPaw Digital Library
Finding Books and Articles on Indigenous Spiritualities
While the library search box is a good tool for locating books and journal articles, it is often best to supplement results by using specialized Indigenous Studies and religious studies databases. Consult Databases page for a listing of databases by subject as you may find useful databases in other subject areas such as anthropology and history.
Here are some key sources for locating academic articles and papers on Indigenous Studies:
-
AISTIS : Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander StudiesGreat index to books and articles on aboriginals in Australia
-
Google ScholarGood source to pull resources from a variety of disciplinary areas
-
iPortal - Indigenous Studies Portal Research Toolexcellent resource for locating primary text, ethnographies, articles and other works on Indigenous StudiesJSTOR and Project Muse are also a good sources for academic journal articles - both are fulltext repositories of academic journals.
Primary Sources for Indigenous Spiritualities
A few examples of digital sources of primary texts/ethnographies include:
-
Amerian Indians of the Pacific Northwestphotographs and text
-
Early Canadiana OnlineSee especially Aboriginal Studies CollectionHistorical content about Canada - books, government documents etc.
-
Early Encounters in North AmericaPrimary sources documenting the relationships among peoples and with the environment in North America from 1534 to 1850, focussing on personal accounts and providing unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, both men and women, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials
-
Edward S. Curtis' The North American Indianfull text of this documentation of Indian culture
-
eHRAF World CulturesFocuses on anthropological descriptions of cultural and social life. Every paragraph is subject indexed"cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. "
-
Native Canada Portal - University of Calgary Digital Archival CollectionsCollection of primary resources on Canada's native peoples - includes military participation, architecture and the arts.
See also Videos/Films including: The ANCS Aboriginal Films
- Last Updated: May 17, 2023 12:00 PM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/religion
- Print Page