A guide to the resources for geology and geophysics
An excellent interdisciplinary abstract and citation database, includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
Petroleum Abstracts Citations and abstracts from worldwide literature on petroleum exploration, production, development, and transportation, and related environmental, safety, and health topics.
This engineering database, is a good source for articles, technical reports, and conference papers about the theories underpining geophysics and geophysical applications.
Provides comprehensive coverage of the geology and geophysics of the world. Focus is primarily on geology and geophysics as it pertains to the geology of an area.
Web of Science
Provides access to over 8700 journals from various disciplines from 1900-.
Key Online Petroleum Article Collections
OnePetro - contains more than 80,000 documents from a number of petroleum related organizations including the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), the Societyo f Petrophysicists and Well Log Analysts (SPWLA) and the American Petroleum Institute).
AAPG Datapages - The AAPG/Datapages online archive database includes over 60,000 articles in the field of petroleum, geology and geophysics. Collections include the AAPG bulletin (1917 to present) and AAPG special publications, Bulletin of Canadian petroleum geology (1953 to present), GCAGS transactions (1951-2003) and GCAGS special publications, Journal of petroleum geology (1978-2004), Journal of sedimentary research (1931 to present) and publications of other geoscience societies.
Geoscience World - GSW is an aggregation of peer reviewed research journals from 30 geoscience publishers. It is fully linked to GeoRef.
Lyell Collection - The Lyell Collection, created to mark the Geological Society of London's 200th anniversary in 2007, represents one of the largest integrated collections of online earth science literature available. The collection brings together Journal of the Geological Society, Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology, Special Publications and key book series on a single electronic platform.
Lexicon of Canadian Stratigraphy
Call Number: QE645 .L38 1981 | Location: Gallagher Library GEO-REF
Dictionary of Petroleum Exploration Drilling and Production
Call Number: TN865 .H96 1991 | Location: Gallagher Library GEO-REF
Dictionary of Petrology
Call Number: QE423 .T65 1983 | Location: Gallagher Library GEO-REF
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Exploration Geophysics
Call Number: TN269 .S54 2002 | Location: Gallagher Library GEO-REF
Schlumberger Oilfield Glossary (Internet Access)
Handbooks & Manuals
Basic Petroleum Databook: Petroleum Industry Statistics
Call Number: HD9561 .B28 | Location: Reference - Taylor Family Digital Library (1st Floor)
CAPP Statistical Handbook (Internet Access)
- Last Updated: Nov 23, 2017 1:25 PM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/geoscience
- Print Page