Skip to main content

Reference Tools

Your one-stop for reference sources such as encyclopedias, abbreviations, biographies, dictionaries and more.

Biographies

Biographies

American National Biography (U of C Only) - Biographical dictionary of notable American men and women from all eras of American history.

Biographical Dictionary - This web based dictionary covers more than 28,000 notable men and women who have shaped our world from ancient times to the present day

Biography and Genealogy Master Index (print only) - A consolidated index to biographical sketches in current and retrospective biographical dictionaries 1980-1999  in HDL.

Dictionary of Canadian Biography - Developed by Library and Archives Canada, this web site profiles Canada's earliest inhabitants and their cultures

Distinguished Women of the Past and Present - This site has biographies of women who contributed to our culture in many different ways

Literature Resource Center - (U of C Only) - , Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline

Marquis Who's who in the world - ( U of C only) - Features comprehensive profiles on over 1 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science & technology, the arts, entertainment and sports.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography - (U of C Only) - 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2004. Click on "Subscribers enter here" to access the search page.    

A Dictionary of Greek and Roman biography and mythology by Sir William Smith. The three volumes of the Dictionary of Greek and Roman Biography and Mythology provide a wealth of information on every significant figure mentioned by the Greek and Roman writers in the areas of history, philosophy, mathematics, the Arts, medicine, law, geography, architecture, and more.   DE5 .S63 1844 V.1-3 (Taylor Family Digital Library - Reference collection)

An African biographical dictionary by Brockman, Norbert C. Approximately 700 entries of historical and contemporary Africans are included in this dictionary, organized alphabetically. The biographical sketches--which include religious and political leaders, business people, educators, those in sports, scientists, and even terrorists--are accompanied by birth and death dates, places where the figure was prominent, and an evaluation of their work, if applicable. DT18 .B76 2006 (Taylor Family Digital Library )

Eric Weisstein’s World of Scientific Biography: Eric Weisstein's World of Science is written and maintained by the author as a public service for scientific knowledge and education.

Biography an interdisciplinary quarterly : (U of C only) 
Biography is an important forum for well-considered biographical scholarship. It features stimulating articles that explore the theoretical, generic, historical, and cultural dimensions of life-writing; and the integration of literature, history, the arts, and the social sciences as they relate to biography.