Skip to main content

Reference Tools: Humanities

Your one-stop for reference sources such as encyclopedias, abbreviations, biographies, dictionaries and more.

Humanities Encyclopedias

Humanities

 

Note: This is not a comprehensive list. For more encyclopedias related to your subject, please visit your Subject Research guides or use the main search box on the library home page.

Dictionary of the History of Ideas - Recounts the historical development of influential ideas across a range of disciplines, including philosophy, religion, politics, literature, and the biological, physical, and social sciences.    CB5 .D52 1973  held in HDL

The New Dictionary of the History of Ideas (Uof C only)(2005) is available through the Gale Virtual Reference Library. In print CB9 .N49 2005 Taylor Family Digital Library General Collection

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (U of C Only) – The online version of the popular encyclopedia, it contains more than 2000 articles, from Aristotle to Nominalism and from Personal Identity to Zeno of Elea. Also available in print format in the MacKimmie Library Reference Collection. Call Number: B51 .R68 1998

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy  A dynamic reference work, each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.

Encyclopaedia Judaica
 (U of C only):Updated edition of this lauded work on Judaism features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. (available online BM50 INTERNET & in text BM50 .E52 2007 v.1-v.22)

Encyclopedia of ReligionThis second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many...  (U of C only): This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles. Also  in the library BL31 .E56 2005 v.1-15 TFDL Reference collection 1st floor.