Skip to main content

New library search launched! View new library borrowing privileges »

Philosophy

Guide to Research Resources for Philosophy

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries for Philosophy

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries are wonderful tools for locating background information on a topic and will often direct you to key books and articles on your subject.

 

 

 

Key Encyclopedias/Dictionaries for Philosophy

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy - digital version of the major multivolume encyclopedia for Philosophy

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy - this refereed scholarly resource provides up-to-date indepth coverage of Philosophy and includes links to scholarly web resources

Oxford Companion to Philosophy - brief guide to philosophical concepts and philosophers

Dictionary of World Philosophy

Dictionary of Eighteenth Century British Philosophers
Call Number: B1301 .D527 1999 | Location

Edinburgh Encyclopedia of Continental Philosophy

Encyclopedia of Ethics
 

NOTE:  The library has dictionaries focused on specific philosophers such as  Historical Dictionary of Nietzscheanism.

Consult Course Resources for more comprehensive lists of resources in focused areas of Philosophy.

 

Other Useful Resources:
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences - very useful for humanities topics

Dictionary of the History of Ideas: Studies of Selected Pivotal Ideas
- also available in print: 
CB5 .D52 1973

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
- also available in print : 
CB9 .N49 2005 

Encyclopedia of Bioethics - 5 vols. 
- also available in print: Call Number: QH332 .E52 2004 

Literature Resource Center - overviews of the life and works of philosophers of every nationality and time period. Also includes extensive listings of critical works

Dictionary of National Biography - extensive entries for British and Commonwealth philosophers

Encyclopedia of Religion - digital version of this multivolume key tool for religious studies

Oxford Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names - brief definitions with links to more indepth discussion in other internet resources

 

 

Handbooks

Cambridge History of 17th Century Philosophy
 

World Philosophy : Essay-Reviews of 225 Works
Call Number:B29 .W65 1982 | Location

 

 

Print Page