Skip to main content

COVID-19 Updates: Due to provincial restrictions, our Contactless Pickup and Study Space/Computer Reservations have changed.

|

Contactless pickup service | Study space and computer reservation | Printing, scanning and copying services

Science 311

These pages support SCIE courses in general.

Google Scholar

A subset of Google that only indexes academic journals. Pros: searching is very easy - just like for regular Google. Covers journals in many disciplines. Cons: Limited functionality for filtering results. May include some journals of dubious quality. See below for a screen shot showing how to set up Google Scholar to detect journals that the UofC Library subscribes to. This will allow you to avoid paywalls and access full text.

Finding Articles on Your Topic

Research Databases


Getting Your Hands on the Material

 

Research Databases: Finding an Article on Your Topic

  • Available electronically from any networked computer on campus or from home
  • Almost all can be searched by title, author, subject, or keyword

Indexes, or databases, are important tools for finding articles and research literature for your papers. Use the ones listed below to find articles of interest in journals, conference proceedings, etc. Journal articles refer to an article published in what you may consider a serial, periodical, or magazine. To actually get the article, after searching the article indexes, see Getting Your Hands on the Material (below.)

Research Databases

These are suggested indexes to get you started. For the most complete list, from the library homepage, click on Subject Guides and find a database by subject or name.

General Useful for all general science topics:

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)  (1970s – present)
    •  Covers 4300 periodicals with full-text of some 2600 peer-reviewed scholarly publications
  • Web of Science (1975 – present) 
    • Useful for tracing citations to a known paper
    • Electronic version is updated weekly
  • Scopus (1960 – present)
    • Covers sciences, as well as arts, humanities, and social sciences
    • Useful for tracing citations to a known paper

Try also:

 Academic OneFile (1995 - present)

Peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines.

Includes full text articles

 ScienceDirect (Elsevier) (Coverage: in most cases: 1993 to present)

E-journals from the publisher Elsevier

Provides full text of journals

 SCIE 503 Students: You may find the databases below useful as well:
ERIC (several interfaces available from the Databases list)

Indexes journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, and standards and guidelines across all educational topics.

ProQuest Digital Dissertations (1861 - present, full-text 1997 - present)

Indexes doctoral dissertations and master's theses worldwide. Emphasis is on N. America.

Theses Canada Portal  (1998 - Aug 31, 2002)

Records for all theses in the National Library of Canada theses collection. Provides free access to the full text electronic versions of Canadian theses and dissertations published from the beginning of 1998 to August 31, 2002.

Top

Biological Sciences

BIOSIS Previews (1980 - present)

Major source of information in the life sciences

Indexes about 5,500 life science research journals as well as 1,500 items from international meetings, review articles, books, book chapters, patents, and software reviews.

SciFinder (formerly Chemical Abstracts) (1907 - present) 

Major source of information in chemistry

Indexes journal and patent literature for chemistry and related disciplines, including substance data (REGISTRY), chemical reactions (CASREACT), chemical regulatory data (CHEMLIST), and chemical suppliers (CHEMCATS)

ucalgary.ca email required to register for an account

PubMed (1966 - present)

From US National Library of Medicine

Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, molecular biology, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences

LinkOut links to some UofC e-journal subscriptions

Top

Chemistry

BIOSIS Previews (1980 - present)

Major source of information in the life sciences

Indexes about 5,500 life science research journals as well as 1,500 items from international meetings, review articles, books, book chapters, patents, and software reviews.

SciFinder (formerly Chemical Abstracts) (1907 - present)

Major source of information in chemistry

Indexes journal and patent literature for chemistry and related disciplines, including substance data (REGISTRY), chemical reactions (CASREACT), chemical regulatory data (CHEMLIST), and chemical suppliers (CHEMCATS)

ucalgary.ca email required to register for an account

Top

Computer Science

ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery) (1985 - present)  

Journals, transactions, conference proceedings and other materials in the field of computing and related disciplines

Includes full-text

IEEE Xplore (IEL) - IEEE/IEE
Electronic Library Online (1988 - present)

IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings, to IEE journals and conference proceedings, and to current IEEE standards

Includes fulltext articles

Top 

Geology & Geophysics

GeoRef (North American geology - 1785 to present; Other areas - 1933 to present)

Covers worldwide technical literature on geology and geophysics

Indexes papers from over 13,000 serials and other publications

Top

Kinesiology

Medline (1966 - present)

International literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.

SportDiscus (1830 - present)

International information on sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, active living, recreation, history, facilities and equipment.

Top

Mathematics & Statistics

MathSciNet (1940 - present; reviews: 1980 - present)

Bibliographic citations and reviews of the mathematical research literature

ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery) (1985 - present)  

Journals, transactions, conference proceedings and other materials in the field of computing and related disciplines

Includes full-text

IEEE Xplore (IEL) - IEEE/IEE
Electronic Library Online (1988 - present)

IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings, to IEE journals and conference proceedings, and to current IEEE standards

Includes fulltext articles

Top

Physics & Astronomy

Compendex (1970 - present)

Comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database

Indexes journal articles, technical reports, and conference papers and proceedings

Top

Social Sciences

Philosopher's Index (1940 - present)

Indexing and abstracts of books and journals of philosophy, including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and metaphysics, and the philosophy of various other disciplines.

Sociological Abstracts (1980 - present)  

Covers sociology and related disciplines by including bibliographic citations, abstracts and enhanced dissertation citations

HumGen

Comprehensive international database on the legal, social and ethical aspects of human genetics, plus links to policy making bodies.

Top

Government Sources

Canadian Research Index (1982 - present)

Citations and abstracts for publications issued by the federal government and the governments of the ten provinces and three territories, including policy papers, statistical reports, annual reports, and research papers. Also includes information on Canadian dissertations.     

Library has full-text of documents on microfiche on 3LT at call number J103 .A1 M52

Government Department Websites (Canada and the U.S.)

Use a search engine to locate the department.

Top 

Getting Your Hands on the Material

1. "Get full text" button

The Get full text button (aka Link Resolver, or Full-Text finder) tries link a reference in an article index (or database) to the electronic full text of the article. If the library has electronic access to an article, the Get full text button will link to the article. If the library subscribes to the print journal, the Get full text button will also link to its record in the catalogue. That way, if the library does not have electronic access, you may find the print copy.

Other databases may not have the Get full text button. Instead, there may be a text link, or "full text" link. 

2. Alternative Access

If the Get full text button indicates no electronic access, and provides no link to the catalogue, your next best alternative is to search the library's home page for the journal title to determine if the library has the journal in its holdings, if the library holdings include the issue that you require, and/or to obtain the call number and location of the journal. This is also an especially good tip for finding conference proceedings.

Search by Journal Title: You will need to enter the full title of the journal as abbreviations are not used. To figure out abbreviations, try the abbreviations sources on this LibGuide.

Your initial search will provide a short list of results at the bottom of the left column, titled JOURNALS. Some journals are also deemed "Best Bets" - in which case you may see links at the top of the left column. Click the "Full Text Online" link to see the years/volumes that are available. If a journal is available physically, click the "Print" link to see the years/volumes that are available, and their locations.

The Library's web pages can also provide you with more information on searching, and explanations of library location codes.

3. Interlibrary Loan

Lastly, if the article you want is not held by the University of Calgary Library, it may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan. There is no charge for this service. You will need a UCID card with a barcode. Interlibrary Loan staff will locate the item in another library and it should arrive in about 2 days (articles) to 3 weeks (books). Requested material may be picked up at the TFDL first floor desk, or it will be emailed to you (journal articles).

4. Other Resources - DOI Resolvers

DOI is a Digital Object Identifier that is assigned to electronic articles, books, etc. If you have a number that looks something like: 10.1126/science.309.5738.1149k, you can enter it at the Web sites below to access the document.

  • DOI Resolver from doi.org (see Resolve a DOI Name)
  • CrossRef's search (click the Search Metadata tab)
  • Google and Google Scholar usually do a pretty decent job as well

5. Other resources - JSTOR "Register & Read" (for articles to which the University does not subscribe)

Register for a free JSTOR account to read up to 6 articles every 30 days

Top

Print Page