BUSN - Company Information

Company reports, financials, directories, news and more

What is a private company?

"A company whose ownership is private. As a result it does not need to meet the strict Securities and Exchange Commission filing requirements of public companies.

Private companies may issue stock and have shareholders. However, their shares do not trade on public exchanges and are not issued through an initial public offering". (Investopedia.com)

Find information on private companies

S & P Capital IQ
Access is limited to current staff, students, and faculty. An account must be requested from Rhiannon Jones
The S&P Capital IQ platform combines deep global company information and market research with powerful tools for fundamental analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. The web and Excel-based platform provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide.
Orbis This link opens in a new window
Preferred browsers: Edge or Firefox
Orbis contains information on close to 400 million companies and entities across the globe, with 41 million of these having detailed financial information. It provides comparable information on companies, with extensive corporate ownership structures and a holistic view. Data highlights include: unique identifiers, industry codes, trade and detailed company descriptions, standardized and projected financials, agency ratings, global and domestic ultimate owners, M & A deals and rumors, patents and intellectual property, royalty agreements, and stock data and earnings documentation. Search companies by name or BvD ID number.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source® Complete contains far more active, peer-reviewed, business related journals than any other database currently available. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals.
- This product supersedes Business Search Premier.
ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI / Business Premium Collection) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business is an intuitive and comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. Designed to help business researchers balance theoretical and practical learning, and acquire research skills that will make them successful in their courses and careers. ProQuest One Business content includes: company, industry, and country reports from providers such as Fitch Solutions and Economist Intelligence Unit, and in-depth analyst reports from J.P. Morgan; scholarly journals and ebook coverage from hundreds of publishers; full text of the three major global business news sources: The Wall Street Journal, the Economist, and the Financial Times; and a robust collection of videos.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.
- Due to license restrictions, access is limited to 6 simultaneous users.
- Interface in English, German, French or Chinese; contents in 22 languages.
Canadian business & current affairs database This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Content comes from a broad range of Canadian sources and includes millions of full-text articles and records from 1933 to current, providing an ideal research environment for those interested in Canadian current events, business, science and technology, medical, humanities and the arts, and hundreds of topics.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Canadian Newsstream provides users with unmatched access to current Canadian news content with archives as far back as the 1970s, from over 360 news sources.
- Coverage is selectively from 1985 to the present.
- Includes fulltext of articles.
Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as: Canadian Business Directory, search an extensive database of over 1,000,000 Canadian companies, both public and private. Search criteria includes, geography, industry, number of employees, and more.
Reference Solutions, a service of Data Axle, is an Internet-based reference service. The site was designed for use as a reference and research tool for students, job seekers and researchers. Reference Solutions includes 2 business databases: Canadian Businesses and U.S. jobs/Internships. Canadian Businesses provides accurate phone-verified information on every company in Canada. Their files are processed weekly against the National Change of Address Program. Selection criteria include: Employee size, Sales volume, Primary and secondary SIC codes, Executive title, Ticker symbol, and Location type. U.S. jobs/Internships combines the power of Reference Solutions with indeed.com to find jobs with their state-of-the-art mapping tool and view results with detailed business profiles. Selection criteria include: Job title, Company name, and Business type.

Industry Benchmark Financials & Ratios

These resources provide benchmark financial data and ratios for companies by industry.

S & P Capital IQ
Available only at Business Library on Stations 13, 14 and the Reference desk. The database provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide. Company ratios are available in the Financials section.Industry ratios are found in the Key Stats and Ratios area of the industry report.
The S&P Capital IQ platform combines deep global company information and market research with powerful tools for fundamental analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. The web and Excel-based platform provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide.

Statistics Canada
See the following Statistics Canada tables for benchmark financial data and ratios by industry:
1. Table 187-0001: Quarterly balance sheet and income statement, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), quarterly (Dollars) at the Canadian level
2. Table 180-0003: Financial and taxation statistics for enterprises, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), annually (Dollars) at the Canadian level
3. Table 187-0002: Quarterly statement of changes in financial position, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), selected financial ratios and selected seasonally adjusted components, quarterly (Dollars) at the Canadian level.
Financial Performance Data (Small Business Profiles)
Provides industry-specific income statement and balance sheet data for small and medium sized businesses. Data is available at provincial and national levels.

Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
Key Business Ratios provides access to competitive benchmarking data. Industry benchmarks are compiled from D&B's database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of business. Contains industry balance sheet and income statement information along with ratios organized by SIC codes.