Skip to main content

Northern Studies

This guide will assist researchers in locating information resources as they relate to the north.

New Library Books

These are some of the titles that have been catalogued for the Arctic Institute of North America Collection in the last two weeks.

Loading

Call Number Locations

Nothern Studies material can be held in any location because the material is so interdisciplinary.  Please note the location of the item that you are interested in and check the guide of book and journal locations. 

Complete Guide to U of C Library Book and Journal Locations

Material that has the location of Gallagher Library - Arctic Institute of North America Collection is located in the basement of the Gallagher Library (ES). 

Basic Catalogue Search

Find Books

Finding Information Related to the North

The Arctic Institute of North America collection can be a challenge to access.  Please do not hesitate to ask for assistance at the Information Desk on the main floor of the Gallagher Library.  You can also contact the Northern Studies Librarian, Claudette Cloutier, at (403)220-3447 or ccloutie@ucalgary.ca.

To find a book or journal in the library use the Library Catalogue search box above.  If you have an specific title or author select Browse or Exact and the specific field (author, title or journal title) in the Catalogue.

Students, Faculty and Staff can recommend a Book for purchase by filling in a Recommendation Form
 (User ID and PIN Number required).

Current Collection

The University of Calgary Library has a strong collection of materials dealing with northern issues, not all of these materials are housed within the Arctic Institute of North America Collection.  To locate books, journals, conferences, government reports, field guides, thesis and maps that are held by the University of Calgary, search the Library Catalogue.   

  • To search for a specific title or author select Browse or Exact and the specific field (author, title or journal title) in the Catalogue.

  • To search for books on a given topic, begin by searching for your topic as a Keyword search and select Search All.  Once you find a book that is relevant to your search, look at the catalogue record and review the list of subject headings.  Click on the hyperlinked subject heading that is most relevant to find similar books and expand your search.

  • Material may be located in a number of areas within the University of Calgary Library.  Items held within the Arctic Institute of North America collection will list the location as Arctic Institute of North America - Gallagher Library.  Take note of the location code, because not all material related to the North is located within the Arctic Institute of North America collection.

 

Pre-1978 Collection

Some of the material collected while the Arctic Institute of North America Collection was house at McGill University, can only be accessed using the Card Catalogue located in the basement of the Gallagher Library adjacent to the AINA collection.  This older material is organized according to an in-house universal decimal classification system based on geographic area.  The cards are filed in the drawers in two sections: Subject and Author/Title.

To browse this collection, you will want to familiarize yourself with the decimal system.  The first number before the decimal point indicates the country or geographic area with which the material is concerned.

1: Alaska
2: Antarctica
3: Canada

4:Greenland
5:Scandinavia
6:Svalbard

7:Russia(USSR)
8:Polar Basin
9:Generalia

Additional digits before the decimal point are for subdivisions of these geographic areas.  These additional numbers are in fact decimal numbers and are filed as such.  Numbers after the decimal point further divide the material into subject categories within the specific geographical region.  The broad categories are as follows:

1:native peoples
2:biology
3:geoscience
4:snow, ice, permafrost, hydrology
5:meteorology
6:medicine
7:law, politics, government, economics
8:communications
9:history 

These may be further subdivided.  Materials are organized first by geographic areas, then within the categories.  For example a sequence of items would appear in the order 1.13, 11.21, 2.41, 29.92, 3.13, 315, 32, 9.21, 99.25.

Find Books We Don't Have

University of Calgary students, faculty and staff can obtain books, copies of journals articles and other documents not held in the the U of C Library through our  Interlibrary Loan service.