BUSN - Finance & Investment
What are they?
|
Commodities are raw materials that can be traded in bulk. Commodities fall into 3 classes:
|
 |
Futures fundamentals tutorial
Commodities
Bloomberg (Available on a dedicated terminal in the Business Library)
The Commodity section of Bloomberg provides trading, descriptive, and settlement information regarding commodities and their associated futures. Data includes contract tables, price graphs, volumes, relative strength index, volatility and more. To enter the Commodity function, press the yellow Cmdty key and then Go.
Thomson Reuters Eikon (Available on a dedicated terminal in the Business Library)
Availability is restricted to Business Library (Stn. 13) and Scurfield Hall Trading Lab. Provides real-time market data, news, ownership data and analysis tools covering public corporations and all types of investment vehicles. Coverage is North America and historical data is available.
S&P Capital IQ (Available on select terminals in the Business Library)
IMF International Financial Statistics - historical prices (International Monetary Fund) (Open access)
Select International Financial Statistics in the left sidebar, then choose "Query" from the upper toolbar. You may then select the commodity you ar researching, date range etc. in the left pane.
IMF Primary Commodity Prices (Open Access)
Indices of primary commodity prices, average weekly prices for commodities, and more.
U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission (Open Access)
An excellent site for information on commodities futures and options markets. The Market Reports tab provides extensive current and historical data. See "Commitments of Traders" for historical futures and options pricing on commodities back to 1986.
Quandl 's Index of Historical Futures Data (Part of Open Financial Data Project) (Open Access)
Covers 200+ futures contracts from 10+ exchanges, with data going back as far as the 1950s. Data indexed includes current market prices, commitment of traders, continuous contracts, and historical contracts.
Bank of Canada (Open Access)
Bank of Canada commodity price index available weekly monthly and annually back to 2000.
Commodity Price Data (World Bank) (Open Access)
Monthly, quarterly and annual commodity price data in summary format as well as price forecasts.
UN ComTrade (U of C authentication required off-campus)
This very comprehensive trade database provides detailed imports and exports statistics of close to 130 countries or areas from 1962 to current.
Commodity Price Statistics (United Nations Conference on Trade and Development) (Open Access)
Input commodity price statistics into the search box to get monthly prices starting in January 1960 for selected commodities.
CNNMoney.com (Open Access)
Current commodity prices for select commodities.
Export Development Canada (Open Access)
Check out Commodity Analyst and Commodity Tracker for price data
Scotiabank Commodity Price Index (Open Access)
Analysis of various trends in commodity prices
TD Economics: Commodity Price Report (Open Access)
Regular releases; includes analysis and prices of major commodities - find under "Current Publications".
Natural Resources Canada (Open Access)
A wealth of information including statistics and prices - select one of the major areas: earth sciences, energy, forest, and minerals & metals.
Minerals & Metals
Kitco (Open Access)
Live market quotes and charts for metals, precious metals, and currencies as well as historical charts and data and news reports.
Global InfoMine (Open Access)
Commodity prices for both precious and base metals.
U.S. Geological Survey – Minerals Information (Open Access)
The Mineral Commodity Summaries annual publication provides production information on over 90 minerals from 1996 to current day
The publication “Metal Prices in the Unites States through 1998”provides an extensive price history for a wide range of metals.
MetalPrices.com (Open Access)
Current metal prices and news
The Northern Miner (Open Access)
The Northern Miner is a one-of-a-kind information resource. With over 100 years of experience serving the mining and exploration industry, crucial reports by The Northern Miner writing staff inform the decision-making process of thousands of high-performing mining professionals.
Agriculture
Alberta Canola Producers Commission (Open Access)
Daily grain prices and weekly feed grain prices from the Alberta Grain Commission.
U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission (Open Access)
An excellent site for information on commodities futures and options markets. The Market Reports tab provides extensive current and historical data. See "Commitments of Traders" for historical futures and options pricing on commodities back to 1986.
- Commodity Markets (World Bank)Includes monthly, quarterly and annual commodity price data in summary format.
- Commodity Research BureauAlthough many of the products must be purchased, there is some freely available data on this site.
- U.S. Commodity Futures Trading CommissionAn excellent site for information on commodities futures and options markets. The Market Reports tab provides extensive current and historical data. See "Commitments of Traders" for historical futures and options pricing on commodities back to 1986.
- USGS Mineral Commodity Summaries(United States Geological Survey)
Provides 5-year salient statistics for over 90 individual minerals and materials as well as historical statistics and access to annual editions of the Minerals Yearbook dating back to as early as 1932. For archived data, click on the individual commodity.
CBOT - Chicago Board of Trade (CME Group) (Open Access)
CBOT is the world’s oldest futures and options exchange. It is part of the CME Group. Products include grains, ethanol, treasuries, equity index and metals
CME - Chicago Mercantile Exchange (CME Group) (Open Access)
The CME is an American financial and commodity derivative exchange based in Chicago. Products include meats, currencies, Eurodollars and equity index
ICE - Intercontinental Exchange (Open Access)
ICE operates regulated global futures exchanges and over-the-counter (OTC) markets for agricultural, energy, equity index and currency contracts, as well as credit derivatives. Its components are ICE Futures US; ICE Futures Europe; ICE Futures Canada (formerly Winnipeg Commodity Exchange) and OTC Markets.
NYMEX - New York Mercantile Exchange(CME Group) (Open Access)
NYMEX provides markets for the trading and clearing of crude oil, gasoline, heating oil, natural gas, electricity, propane, coal, uranium, environmental commodities, gold, silver, copper, aluminum, platinum and palladium. Click on the Markets tab for in-depth market data, futures contracts, historical prices on commodities, including currency products, interest rate products etc.
MGEX - Minneapolis Grain Exchange (Open Access)
Agricultural indexes include hard red spring/winter indexes, soft red winter wheat index, national corn index and national soybean index futures and options
ino.com (Open Access)
This site is not an exchange, but provides limited information by exchange - Chicago Board of Trade, Chicago Mercantile Exchange, Minneapolis Grain Exchange, New York Mercantile Exchange and so on.