Skip to main content

COVID-19 Updates: Due to provincial restrictions, our Contactless Pickup and Study Space/Computer Reservations have changed.

|

Contactless pickup service | Study space and computer reservation | Printing, scanning and copying services

English Language and Literature

"Encyclopedia..."

Check out the Oxford English Dictionary's second and third entries for "encyclopedia".
Note especially entries 2 and 3.

 

Try this!

Search the library homepage for encyclopedias relating to literature.

In the search box, type litera* encyclopedia.

Search. Then, in the left-hand sidebar under Item Types, click on Books.

HINT: The asterisk * is a "truncation" symbol.  It allows you to search for terms that have the same root but different endings.  For example, litera* will return literature, literatures and literary.

HINT: In the search above, try using dictionary, or handbook, or guide, instead of encyclopedia.

Encyclopedias

ENCYCLOPEDIAS - ELECTRONIC

Columbia Encyclopedia 
(via Credo Reference) "Provides authoritative factual information about our world in its many guises - physical, historical, geographical, political, scientific, religious, and cultural."

The Edinburgh Encyclopaedia of Modern Criticism and Theory (2002, via Credo Reference)

The Encyclopedia of Literature in Canada (2002) Also available in print.


ENCYCLOPEDIAS - PRINT

Encyclopedia of African-American Writing (2009)

Encyclopedia of British Women's Writing, 1900-1950 (2006)

Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States (2009)

Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature (2006)

Encyclopedia of Literary Modernism (2003)

Print Page