- Living with Coyotes
Resources about coyotes. It also has a mapping tool to report coyote behaviour and sightings.
- Peregrine Falcon page (UofC)
- Urban Alliance
Research partnership between the UofC and the City of Calgary..."to better coordinate a seamless transfer of leading research between the City of Calgary and its university..." Research themes include: Social fabric & security, Living spaces, Natural environment, Consumption & disposal, Mobility, Physical infrastructure, Management & industry, Workplace, Governance.
- CEDRO (Centre for Environmental Design Research and Outreach) (Affiliated with University of Calgary, Faculty of Environmental Design)
The centre is a "University-based research and outreach organization which offers unique interdisciplinary research, advice, information, and support to a range of client groups on local, provincial, national as well as international levels."
- University of Calgary Bennett Jones Law Library Guides
- Environmental Law Centre
Provides "Albertans with an objective source of information about environmental and natural resources law."
Includes an FAQ page on topics such as environmental audits, environmental assessments, private land conservation, etc.
- Energy & Environmental Systems Group (Affiliated with University of Calgary, Institute for Sustainable Energy, Environment and Economy)
"EESG is the University's center for applied work on issues that arise at the intersection of energy systems and the environment, and supports problem-driven, policy-relevant, interdisciplinary research."
- EcoLiving Fair
"To facilitate information exchange and partnerships among communities, consumers, and businesses about innovative environmentally sustainable options."
- Climate Change Central
A public-private not-for-profit organization created "to find an effective way to manage climate change challenges in the province."
- Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency
Links to the Canadian Environmental Assessment Registry (CEAR) and to the Federal Environmental Assessment Index.
- Canadian Parks Council
Some publications, useful links and general info about Canada's parks. "Federal, provincial and territorial parks agencies working together since 1962 to: promote excellence in park planning and management, advance park and protected areas values, and facilitate cooperation among and provide support to member agencies."
- Canadian Forest Service
- EOSD (Earth Observation for Sustainable Development of Forests) Images
High-resolution images of Canada from "compressed tiles generated by Earthsat Corporation (circa 1990). ... The most northerly regions of Canada are truncated from this mosaic because Landsat’s orbit does not extend above 81 degrees North Latitude. The mosaic extends well into the United States." The resolution is such that roads and buildings, though not individual houses, can be seen.
- Canadian Centre for Pollution Prevention
A non-profit, non-government organization that "encourages actions that avoid or minimize the creation of pollution and waste – pollution prevention (P2) – actions that foster a healthier environment and a sustainable society. "
Site includes contents of their roundtables, including most speaker presentations.
- CIER: Centre for Indigenous Environmental Resources
- Reports Canada
"... tracking new reports released by federal and provincial government departments and committees, NGOs and other Canadian organizations involved with public policy. RC began tracking in April 2009 ..."
- NPArC - NRC's searchable online "archive." "NPArC is a searchable online repository containing thousands of NRC-authored publication citations. Use NPArC to link to publications of interest and to set up alerts."
- Environmental Science Digital Collection
From U of North Texas. Focus is on policy. Contains web-published materials from the US, Europe, China, and Japan, covering areas such as climate change, emissions, land use, sustainable development, water issues and biodiversity.
- Climate Library
One can also post documents (e.g. reports, research papers, theses) to this library about climate change. The documents are vetted by an editorial team.
- IUCN (International Union for Conservation of Nature) Publication Search
Over "800 free downloadable documents: access all the titles published by IUCN from 1948 to the present, plus a selection of titles from IUCN members, partners and other publishers."
Part blog, part website with articles and links to sustainability-related tools, models, ideas and sites.
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
- NSCEP/NEPIS (National Service Center for Environmental Publications/National Environmental Publications Internet Site): "More than 7,000 in stock and 25,000 digital titles are available FREE of charge to search and retrieve, download, print and/or order ..."
- Regulatory Dockets and more info
- Information Products Bulletins
- Hotlines and clearinghouses
- Centre of Excellence for Sustainable Development (U.S. Dept. of Energy) (site currently under re-construction)
Information and web-links related to sustainable development. It is organized by topics (such as land-use, transportation, green buildings, etc). Under each topic area is a wealth of on-line manuals, workbooks, success stories, model codes and ordinances, and other resources related to making communities better places to live.
- BISE (Biodiversity Information System for Europe)
A "portal centralising information about European biodiversity." It is organized into 5 sections: policy, topics, data, research and countries&networks.
- The Earth Institute at Columbia University "helping to advance nine interconnected global issues: climate and society, water, energy, poverty, ecosystems, public health, food and nutrition, hazards and urbanization" ...
- National Library of Medicine Environmental Health & Toxicology Specialized Information Services site
Guides to the NLM's Web pages and resources on specific environmental health and toxicology topics, such as pesticide exposure, occupational safety and health, etc.
- Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) Program (EPA)
A publicly available database that contains information on U.S. toxic chemical releases and other waste management activities reported annually by certain covered industry groups as well as federal facilities. The TRI Explorer provides access to the TRI data to help identify facilities and chemical releases that warrant further study and analysis.
- Right-to-Know Network
A service run by OMB Watch, a U.S. noprofit government watchdog organization. It databases section provides free access to information on toxic release inventories, creation, shipment and receipt of hazardous waste, superfund sites, EPA compliance enforcement, etc. Some of the data is older. The site also has links to other resources.
- Conservation Commons
Still in its infancy, the Conservation Commons is "...a cooperative effort of non-governmental organizations, international and multi-lateral organizations, governments, academia, and the private sector, to improve open access to and unrestricted use of, data, information and knowledge related to the conservation of biodiversity"
- Internet Center for Wildlife Damage Management
"... a non-profit grant funded site that provides research-based information on how to responsibly handle wildlife damage problems. This site seeks to service the needs of 4 key constituency groups: homeowners, agricultural producers, professionals (both academic and industry providers) and policy makers, such as government agencies."
The site has several online collections, including: Bird control seminar proceedings, Great plains wildlife damage control workshop proceedings, Wildlife damage management proceedings, etc.
- ESource's PIER Technical Briefs (in pdf)
ESource provides "unbiased, independent analysis of retail energy markets, services, and technologies." This section of the website provides some free technical briefs, offered through finding from the California Energy Commission's Public Interest Energy Research (PIER) program and report on energy-efficient technologies. Users must fill in a short online form before accessing the briefs. Topics include Classroom Lighting, Small HVAC Savings, and Hybrid Lighting Fixtures. Each reviews current problems related to the topic area, provides some solutions, and describes the benefits and applications for the technology highlighted.
- American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy
A nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing energy efficiency as a means of promoting both economic prosperity and environmental protection.
- National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Major R&D areas include solar, wind, biomass, geothermal, hydrogen & fuel cells, buildings, advanced vehicles & fuels, electric infrastructure systems, energy analysis.
- Island Press' Eco-Compass
"Overview of information on a wide range of environmental topics."
Includes links to related sites and other in-depth information. Eco-Compass is organized into six broad categories:
- Ecosystem Studies
- Land Use, Planning, and Environmental Design
- Human Health and the Environment
- Global Issues
- Economics, Policy, and Law
- General Interest
- Carbon Footprint
Calculate carbon footprints for individuals and households.
An environment-themed "community website" from the Institute of Physics. Includes news, job postings, brief company data, etc.
- Science.gov - "a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results."
- Sense About Science - "Promoting good science and evidence for the public." This site helps the public understand science, and tries to clear misconceptions about science. Their "recent and current priorities include alternative medicine, MRI, detox, nuclear power, evidence in public health advice, weather patterns and an educational resource on peer review."
- Official U.S. Time (MST) - as well as a graphic showing the sunlit and dark areas of the earth.
- Intute (not updated past Jul 2011) - "access to the very best Web resources for education and research, evaluated and selected by a network of subject specialists."
- Google Scholar
Provides access to scholarly sources. If you choose "University of Calgary (UofC Access)" in the "Scholar Preferences" section, Google Scholar will try to link to the documents via the "UofC Access" link.
"... free, publicly available web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases."
A "computational knowledge engine." There are also some chemical properties, but the sources are not really listed.
- Scirus - retired
- Last Updated: Dec 8, 2017 9:29 AM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/ensc
- Print Page