Skip to main content

COVID-19 update: New COVID-19 communications protocols, campus non-medical mask protocol

Limited Computers (50) and Study Spaces (81) on the 1st and 2nd floors of the TFDL are available and must be booked. Book here.

We are now offering contactless pickup – for current Ucalgary Students, Faculty and Staff only. Place requests for materials that you want from our library system. Pick them up when you receive an email.

Virtual service hours today: 9:00 AM to 10:00 PM.10:00 AM to 8:00 PM. You can return your books to the exterior book drop on the East side of the TFDL. More information on the Covid 19 page.

Urban Studies

Find journal articles

Use the search box on the Library main webpage for a broad article search.

For the best results, search specific article databases:

Main Library page -> Research -> Databases -> All Subjects -> Urban Studies

Scopus and Web of Science are good databases for Urban Studies.

Tips for efficient database searching:

 phrase search  "smart cities"
 Boolean operators  and (narrows), or (broadens)
 truncation/wildcard  plan*
 date range  narrows your search

 

 

 

 

Most article databases have links to the full text: Get full text.  If the Library does not have the article you are looking for you can request it at no charge through the Library's Interlibrary Loan Service

Citation management software:

Most databases allow you to export your article to citation manager software, such as EndNote, Mendeley, Zotero. 

Please visit the Citation Tools Research Guide for more information.

Print article indexes

Access to journal literature indexed in the pre-electronic era.
 
Council of Planning Librarians: Bibliography [1979-1995, not all years]. Check catalogue
  • Series of bibliographies on various topics related to Planning
  • Issues containing author and subject indexes and numeric lists of titles released throughout the year
  • Incorporated into Journal of Planning Literature (see below) in August 1996

Ekistic Index [1968-1984] Check catalogue

  • International; third world
  • Our subscriptions to the journals covered is poor.
Geographical Abstracts: Human Geography [19xx - 2009]. Check catalogue
  • Formerly in three parts - now merged into one
  • Part C - Economic Geography [1966 -]
  • Part D - Social and Historical Geography [1972 -]
  • Part F - Regional and Community Planning [1972 -]
Journal of Planning Literature [1986 - 2003]. Check catalogue
  • Electronic version available
  • Literature reviews and abstracts of books, articles, research reports and government documents relating to Planning
  • Since August 1996, includes CPL Bibliography (see above)
  • Entries are listed under broad category - no subject index included
  • Published quarterly (no annual cumulative index)

PAIS International in Print [1991-2000]. Check catalogue

  • Electronic version available
  • Interdisciplinary coverage of political, social, economic and public policy issues
  • Indexes over 1600 periodicals and a smaller number of books, reports, proceedings, pamphlets, and government documents
  • Entries arranged by subject
  • Published monthly with annual cumulation (which contains author index)
Sage Urban Studies Abstracts [1973-2003]. Check catalogue
  • Electronic version available
  • Approximately 1000 English-language books, journal articles, pamphlets, government publications, and research studies indexed annually
  • Substantial abstracts
  • 15 broad subject categories, each issue also contains subject and author indexes
  • Published quarterly
  • Issue 4 (November) each year contains annual cumulative index and list of periodicals abstracted
UNDOC Current Index [1979-1996, not all volumes of all years]. Check catalogue
  • Index to documents, proceedings and publications received by the Dag Hammarskjold Library at the UN
  • Often the only place to find UN documents
  • Each issue contains a personal/corporate name index, a title index and a subject index
  • Published 10/year with annual cumulations (available in microfiche at same call no.)
  • Library holds some of the documents in fiche format

Urban Affairs Abstracts [1973-1992, not all volumes of all years]. Check catalogue

  • Published by the National League of Cities. Heavily U.S.
  • Annual cumulation has a list of subject descriptors in the front. Headings are broad

Print Page