LAW Alternative Energy Law

This guide is intended to help researchers locate cases, legislation, commentary and databases on Alternative Energy Law and can be used as a resource for Law 617.

Law Library

You will find the Bennett Jones Law Library website to be useful for your general legal research needs.

General Legal Databases

A list of suggested keyword terms for your database searches is found in the "Where to Start" tab of this guide. These resources can also be found under Legal Databases on the Bennett Jones Law Library's website.

Online Resources specifically useful for legal research include:

CanLII

CanLII, is a non-profit organization managed by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada to provide Open Access, freely accessible primary legal material, including court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.
HeinOnline

Contains the full text of numerous legal journals and monographs, U.S. government documents, foreign and international law materials, legal classics, world trials and more.
Gale OneFile. LegalTrac
Gale OneFile: LegalTrac provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
- Coverage is from 1980 to the present.
Lexis Advance Quicklaw
- Available to Faculty of Law students only
- Password access only
Content includes Canadian, US, UK, international and foreign legal materials.
WestlawNext Canada (UofC Law School only)
WestlawNext Canada is a full text and indexing database that provides access to a variety of law and finding tools. It includes Canadian statutes and regulations, reported decisions from Canadian courts and tribunals, Canadian law journals and law reviews. Westlaw includes nearly 15,000 databases covering most US primary and secondary legal materials and legal research tools. It also includes over 700 full text law reviews and has legal material from the UK, Australia and the EU. N.B. Faculty of Law students and faculty may obtain an individual password.
- LawSource provides you with a wealth of Canadian primary law, Case law, Legislation, and access leading editorial tools for legal research as Keycite® Canada (online case and statute citator), Canadian encyclopedic digest, Canadian abridgment digests, Index to Canadian legal literature (ICLL), Carswell law reports, Canadian statutes and regulations, reported decisions from Canadian courts and tribunals, Canadian law journals and law reviews
- LabourSource is home to grievance arbitration decisions, court decisions, Labour board decisions from accross Canada, collective bargaining materials, and exclusive access to leading labour commentary such as Brown & Beatty. LawSource provides you with a wealth of Canadian primary law, plus commentary and value-added tools such as KeyCite Canada, the Canadian Abridgment, the Canadian encyclopedic digest (CED), Words and phrases, and Canadian law reviews and journals
WestlawNext Canada
WestlawNext Canada is a full text and indexing database that provides access to a variety of law and finding tools. It includes Canadian statutes and regulations, reported decisions from Canadian courts and tribunals, Canadian law journals and law reviews. Westlaw includes nearly 15,000 databases covering most US primary and secondary legal materials and legal research tools. It also includes over 700 full text law reviews and has legal material from the UK, Australia and the EU.
- LawSource provides you with a wealth of Canadian primary law, Case law, Legislation, and access leading editorial tools for legal research as Keycite® Canada (online case and statute citator), Canadian encyclopedic digest, Canadian abridgment digests, Index to Canadian legal literature (ICLL), Carswell law reports, Canadian statutes and regulations, reported decisions from Canadian courts and tribunals, Canadian law journals and law reviews
- LabourSource is home to grievance arbitration decisions, court decisions, Labour board decisions from accross Canada, collective bargaining materials, and exclusive access to leading labour commentary such as Brown & Beatty. LawSource provides you with a wealth of Canadian primary law, plus commentary and value-added tools such as KeyCite Canada, the Canadian Abridgment, the Canadian encyclopedic digest (CED), Words and phrases, and Canadian law reviews and journals

Alberta Queen's Printer
Provincial government website that contains an alphabetical listing of statutes. Also includes Alberta Gazette.

more... less...

Official source of Alberta government laws and publications since 1906.
Canadian Legislation - Alberta
Find resources and best practices for searching Alberta legislation including statues, regulations and bills.
Statutes of Alberta
The Provincial Statutes of Canada library in HeinOnline contains the Annual and Revised Statutes of Alberta from 1906 to present.
Alberta Law Collection
All of the Statutes up to 1990, Legislative Assembly Bills, Debates and Journals, the Alberta Gazette and the Ordinances of the Northwest Territories prior to the birth of Alberta.

QP Source Professional
Google Chrome or Firefox are recommended browsers
QP Source Professional is a fully searchable database of the current text of Alberta's statutes and regulations, Registrar's Periodical, and Spring and Fall Sitting legislation. It also includes Rules of Court and Practice Notes, the Alberta Gazette (1996 to present) and Orders-in-Council (1967 to present), as well as a variety of other legislative related publications.
- Began in 1990s. Updated continuously.

LEGISinfo
From the Library of Parliament, "This tool provides electronic access to a wide range of information about individual bills, such as:
- the text of the bill at various stages;
- government press releases and backgrounders (for government bills);
- legislative summaries from the Parliamentary Research
- important speeches at second reading;
- votes; and
- coming into force data."
Department of Justice - Justice Laws
Legal Databases
A list of legal databases available at the University of Calgary.

Revised statutes of Canada

This database includes over 48,000 pages of Canadian statutory law, covering all six revisions from the official printed volumes. These volumes are organized by edition and year. The Revised Statutes of Canada set is the consolidation of the Statutes of Canada incorporating amendments and acts that have been added since the last revision.

Finding Case Law

Depending on your research, you will need to find cases. The Bennett Jones Law Library's Legal Databases, Canadian Cases and Decisions, and Foreign Cases and Decisions pages will assist you generally. The Courts page is divided by jurisdiction. Some places to search for cases include:

Class Library Session

These are the PowerPoint slides from the library session on 26 September 2019.

Law 617 Fall 2019

Print Page