Psychiatry

This guide will assist Psychiatry residents and faculty with locating and using relevant library resources.

Journals

Find Psychiatry and Mental Health Journals
This link searches the UofC catalogue for journals with psychiatry as a subject.

Start with these databases first if you need to find original studies.

PsycINFO
Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. PsycINFO's coverage is worldwide, and includes references and abstracts to journal articles in more than 20 languages, and to book chapters and books in the English language.
MEDLINE - OVID
Covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities,and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.
PubMed
Database from US National Library of Medicine covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, molecular biology, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
EMBASE
Three separate databases: (1) EMBASE: Excerpta Medica Database, and its subsets, (2) EMBASE Drugs and Pharmacology, and (3) EMBASE Psychiatry. Major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals. Approx. 375,000 records added yearly. Coverage from 1980 - present

APA Search Help and Training Center
APA offers free Basic, Advanced, and Results Management 30-minute PsycINFO training sessions for students and faculty, as well as joint sessions with Psi Chi.

Subjects: Health Sciences Library, Medicine