Skip to main content

COVID-19 update: New COVID-19 communications protocols, campus non-medical mask protocol

Limited Computers (50) and Study Spaces (81) on the 1st and 2nd floors of the TFDL are available and must be booked. Booking hours extended. Book here.

We are now offering contactless pickup – for current Ucalgary Students, Faculty and Staff only. Place requests for materials that you want from our library system. Pick them up when you receive an email.

Virtual service hours today: 9:00 AM to 10:00 PM.10:00 AM to 8:00 PM. You can return your books to the exterior book drop on the East side of the TFDL. More information on the Covid 19 page.

Map Resources

Resources collected for Spatial and Numeric Data Services (SANDS) staff

Map Tools

Conversion Tools

Distance Calculators

Projections

  • Map projections PDF Icon
    Album of numerous map projections, published as U.S. Geological Survey Professional Paper 1453
  • Choosing a Projection
    Tutorial by J. Albrecht, Hunter College, NY, explains key concepts in choosing a projection, along with chart summarizing projection properties
  • Map Catalogers' Tool Box
    Series of links and bibliographic references for map projections, scales, conversions and coordinate systems

Gazetteers & Place Names

  • Geographical Names of Canada
    Allows queries by name or location of the Canadian Geographical Names Data Base (CGNDB) which contains 500 000 records, over two-thirds of which are currently official names, as approved by the Canadian Permanent Committee on Geographical Names (CPCGN)
  • Alberta Place Names
    Searchable database available from Alberta Heritage Community Foundation and the Friends of Geographical Names of Alberta
  • JewishGen Shtetlseeker (Genealogical Resource)
    Search for towns in Central and Eastern Europe by name or location
  • GEONet Names Server (GNS) by U.S. Board on Geographic Names
    Provides access to the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency's (NGA) and the U.S. Board on Geographic Names' (US BGN) database of foreign geographic feature names
  • Getty Thesaurus of Geographica Names (TGN)
    TGN is a structured vocabulary currently containing around 1,102,000 names and other information about places and may include names in the vernacular language, English, other languages and historical names

Map Organizations

  • ACMLA Homepage
    Association of Canadian Map Library and Archives Website
  • WAML Map Librarian's Toolbox
    Western Association of Map Libraries web page that organizes information on frequently asked questions related to Map Librarianship
  • British Map Curators Toolbox
    An online source of information and help for map curators, librarians and archivists, sponsored by the Map Curators' Group of the British Cartographic Society

Outline Maps

Citations

Dictionaries & Factbooks

  • Map terms
    Glossary of cartographic/map terms provided by Maps for America, 3rd ed.
  • Geographic Dictionary PDF Icon
    Dictionary Of Cartographic Abbreviations and Acronyms
  • World Facts
    Learning resource for facts and maps about the world and individual countries
  • World Fact Book
    Published by the CIA; contains maps, country profiles and factual data by country

Spatial and Numeric Data Services Home Page

Contact Information:

Spatial and Numeric Data Services
Rm 466, Taylor Family Digital Library
Telephone: 403-220-6822
Email: maps@ucalgary.ca

Print Page