Skip to Main Content

COVID-19 Updates: Open to UCalgary students, faculty and staff only| Present QR Vaccination Code in addition to UCID for entry to the TFDL | Masks are mandatory in all library spaces | Booking a Space for Online Classes

Map Resources

Resources collected for Spatial and Numeric Data Services (SANDS) staff

Aerial Photos

University of Calgary Air Photo Collection

Alberta Environment and Parks - Air Photo Services
Provides link to online search, by legal land description, using Aerial Photo Record System (APRS) website and product ordering information. Air Photo Distribution has a collection of over 1.4 million aerial photographs covering the entire province of Alberta between 1949-2012. Copies of the photography can be purchased either in hard copies or digital formats

Canada's National Air Photo Library
From Natural Resources Canada, archive of over 6 million aerial photographs covering all of Canada starting in the 1920s.  Search and order online.

Alberta Historical Air Photo Mosaics
The University of Lethbridge has digitized 700 mosaic Aerial Photographs that were taken between 1949-51

Historical Orthophotos of Alberta (circa 1950-60)
Files can be downloaded from ABMI ftp server

Southern Alberta Aerial Imagery
Requires signup to access, ortho images in .sid format of municipal districts in Southern Alberta.  Hosted by the Alberta Municipal Data Partnership.

BC Airphoto Viewer
Launch application which requires Google Earth, which then provides links to digital photos from 1996 on. Links to earlier flight indexes are available at the bottom of the page.

FlySask2
Saskatchewan Geospatial Imagery Collaborative (SGIC) provides free public viewing access to some basic imagery sets. Login as guest/guest. 

Yukon Skyline
Map viewer enables location and line number searches, along with numerous thematic layers, to help identify photo coverage

Wartime and Scotland Historic Aerial Photography
The Aerial Reconnaissance Archives (TARA) contains millions of military reconnaissance images of locations throughout the world declassified by the UK Ministry of Defence. The Scottish "National Collection" contains the largest and most significant collection of historic and contemporary aerial imagery of Scotland

Spatial and Numeric Data Services Home Page

Contact Information:

Spatial and Numeric Data Services
Rm 466, Taylor Family Digital Library
Telephone: 403-220-6822
Email: maps@ucalgary.ca

Print Page