Communication Studies
Search Library resources
To search library resources you can use the main search box on the Library Home Page. It is a tool for searching for journal articles, books, newspaper articles, videos, and conference proceedings.
The initial query will take you to the results page with items sorted by relevance. To make best use of the results, make sure you sign-in. To discover the item you would like, use the filters on the left hand column, You can refine your search, select an item type, limit by date of publication and select subjects that apply. Once you have filtered your results review the items. To keep track of your selections, use the PIN icon to keep your selections in a folder, You can review your selections later and email your choices to yourself or save in a bibliographic software tool once your research is complete.
Clicking on a result will in the case of a journal article give you full text or in some cases the information on the print version.
Clicking on a book result will bring you to the location and status of the book. You will be able to determine its location and also place a request (hold) if you do not have time to pick it up. Please note in order to place a request you must sign-in.
Use advanced search when you wish to combine terms with subjects and/or authors and format.
Other search tools
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowTo set up Google Scholar to detect UofC subscribed resources, refer to the Science 311 LibGuides Page: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/SCIE311/articles
- EbscohostSearching with the main search box does not include 69 databases found in Ebscohost. You may search these databases directly, if you know the name e.g. Canadian Reference Centre or you can search the entire database by linking to Ebscohost above.
- U of C collections Physical collectionAll the records from the Library Catalogue are loaded into Quick search, To choose to search the Physical collection, use advanced search, choose Physical collections.
- Specialized DatabasesDatabases often have a subject(s) or format focus. . Often you will have much better results and more relevant search results using these databases.
To find the subject related databases use the dropdown on the subject guides page to select the subject most likely to work for you. - NewspapersTo find the newspaper databases, select the all database types dropdown and click on Newspapers. Read the database descriptions carefully in order to select the appropriate source. Note that some databases are historical and some are current
- Dissertations and ThesesTo find the theses and dissertations databases select the dropdown All database types and click on Theses and dissertations.
For more information on how to access University of Calgary theses please see Archives and Special collections asc.ucalgary.ca/collections/archival/university/thesis - LAC Reference Internet ResourcesLinks to quick reference online tools and subject reference online tools from Library and Archives Canada