BUSN - Business Environment
This guide provides resources on the 6 areas that constitute the business environment - economic, technological, political/legal, competitive, social-cultural and environmental.
What is the economic environment
The economic environment applies to economic factors that impact the success or risks of a business venture. The economic environment includes economic indicators, the values of market indexes and other factors that influence consumer behaviour. The analysis may be applied to the local, provincial, state, national or global environment.
Economic
-
Alberta Economic Development(Open Access)
Find information on the Alberta economy, reports and studies, and news. -
Alberta Economic DashboardEasy access to valuable provincial economic information. The dashboard provides user friendly access to 26 economic indicators specific to the Alberta economy and will be updated as new data is released.
-
Provincial Outlook Economic Forecast for Alberta (Conference Board of Canada)(U of C authentication is required off-campus)
This quarterly economic forecast examines the economic outlook for the province. -
Calgary and Region Economic Outlook (City of Calgary)(Open Access) Short and long-term economic trends.
-
Calgary Economic DevelopmentCurrent and forecast economic indicators and economic development strategy.
-
Economy at a Glance: The Calgary Advantage (Calgary Economic Development)Information on what makes Calgary Western Canada's business centre. Includes areas where Calgary has ranked among the best, extensive demographic and economic information, lifestyle information and more.
-
Canada West Foundation"Our mandate is to explore public policy issues of particular interest to western Canadians, to test national policies against regional aspirations and to ensure an effective regional voice in national policy discussions and the national political process."
-
OECD Economic Survey of Canada 2018This report investigates the major challenges facing the country, provides extensive statistical information and a short-term outlook.
-
Statistics Canada Economic Indicators
A compilation of information from many Statistics Canada tables.
-
Conference Board of CanadaConference Board of Canada issues regular reports on economic outlook at the national, provincial and municipal levels.
-
Canada's Economic Action PlanGovernment of Canada.
-
Economic Insights (Statistics Canada)
"The Economic Insights series features concise examinations of economic events, trends, and important structural changes in the economy." -
Bank of Canada Rates and StatisticsCurrent and historical exchange rates, interest rates, price indices, and monetary policy indicators.
-
Innovation, Science, and Economic Development CanadaThis is a very comprehensive site for information on industries in Canada. Includes statistics and research, companies by industry sector, federal regulations and more.
-
Centre for the Study of Living StandardsThe focus of CSLS is to "investigate trends in and determinants of productivity, living standards and economic and social well-being through research."
Includes "Index of Economic Well-being", labour markets, productivity, industry sectors and more. -
Canadian Economics AssociationThe Association's objective is the advancement of economic knowledge through the encouragement of study and research, the issuing of publications, and the furtherance of free and informed discussion of economic questions.
-
World Economic Outlook Reports (IMF)
Usually published twice per year these reports provide analyses of global economic developments during the near and medium term.
-
OECD iLibraryOECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. It includes books, reports, periodicals and statistical databases produced by the OECD and its special bodies (eg. International Energy Agency and Nuclear Energy Agency). The materials focus on economic and social issues from macroeconomics to trade, education, aging society, communication, information technologies, energy, development, science and innovation.
-
IMF eLibrary data ( formerly: International Financial Statistics Online)The International Monetary Fund publishes a range of time series data related to IMF lending, exchange rates, and economic and financial indicators for well over 200 countries. Searching this database gives you access to all IMF data sources including: International Financial Statistics.
-
United States Bureau of Economic AnalysisFind detailed U.S. National Economic Accounts, foreign trade, industry economic accounts and more.
-
Federal Reserve SystemEconomic indicators, monthly national and international economic trends, and data tools.
-
World Economic ForumSee the "Reports" section for detailed reports on global issues including global competitiveness reports, global risks reports, industry reports and more.
-
The Conference Board provides regular issues of World Outlook as well as International Economic Trends Service Reports.
-
IBISWorldClick "Industry Risk Ratings" in the upper right corner to access US Business Environment Profiles. These profiles provide insight into the drivers that affect industry performance. The drivers include exchange rates, commodity prices, interest rates, weather conditions, consumer attitudes, demographics and many more.
-
EY Passport (EY/Passport)--Requires Internet Explorer for best results -- Electronic version of Ernst & Young's popular tax library offers a wealth of tax and business knowledge on more than 150 countries. Sections featured include: Doing Business In, The Global Executive, Worldwide Corporate Tax Guide, Worldwide VAT and GST Guide, Transfer Pricing Global Reference Guide, and Global Oil & Gas Tax Guide.
- WEF Global Competitiveness Report
Report offers insights into the economic prospects of 141 economies.