BUSN - Writing and Presenting

This guide provides resources to help with business communication, focusing on academic integrity, business writing, presentations, citing and referencing, and using web resources.

Scholarly sources

Peer-reviewed and scholarly journals are related but not identical. Not all scholarly journals go through the peer-review process.

Intent: Scholarly journals contribute to the progress and extent of knowk,edge in a discipline. They report on original research or experimentation in order to make such information available to the rest of the scholarly world.

Academic/Scholarly articles:

Scholarly journals contain articles written by, and addressed to, experts in a discipline, including scholars, researchers, and academics.
They are concerned with academic study, especially research, and demonstrate the methods and concerns of scholars.
Articles are long, include graphs, charts and tables and the language is technical and discipline-specific
Scholarly journals always rigorously cite their sources in the form of footnotes or bibliographies. Many scholarly journals are published by professional organizations. (Robert E. Kennedy Library, California Polytechnic State University. http://lib.calpoly.edu/research/guides/peer.html)
Examples:
Canadian Tax Journal
Journal of Staff Development
International Journal of Energy, Environment and Economics

Peer-reviewed articles:

Peer review is the process by which colleagues critically appraise each other's work in order to ensure a high level of scholarship.
When the manuscript of an article is submitted to a peer-reviewed journal, independent experts are asked to read and comment on the manuscript. If approved by the reviewers, the manuscript is accepted for publication as an article in the journal. (University or Toronto, Gerstein Science Information Centre. http://guides.library.utoronto.ca/peerreview)
Examples:
Academy of Management Journal
Journal of Marketing
Journal of Human Resources
Journal of Small Business M]anagement
Journal of Consumer Research

Watch this brief video tutorial:

The U of C subscribes to many databases that contain a combination of peer-reviewed, scholarly, trade and popular journals and articles. Most of these databases allow you to limit your search results to peer-reviewed, scholarly/academic articles, trade publications etc.

Try searching these databases:

Search Business Source Complete for peer-reviewed articles on your topic:

ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI / Business Premium Collection) This link opens in a new window
ABI Inform database contains a broad array of business information, from scholarly journals and dissertations, to company, industry and market focused trade news and features the latest news from top sources like the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times and The Economist. Widely recommended as an excellent source for all business disciplines and courses. You may limit your search results to scholarly and/or peer-reviewed articles.
ProQuest One Business is an intuitive and comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. Designed to help business researchers balance theoretical and practical learning, and acquire research skills that will make them successful in their courses and careers. ProQuest One Business content includes: company, industry, and country reports from providers such as Fitch Solutions and Economist Intelligence Unit, and in-depth analyst reports from J.P. Morgan; scholarly journals and ebook coverage from hundreds of publishers; full text of the three major global business news sources: The Wall Street Journal, the Economist, and the Financial Times; and a robust collection of videos.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. EconLit is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1886. It provides links to full-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics, and much more. EconLit indexes six types of records: journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and full-text book reviews from the Journal of Economic Literature.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
To set up Google Scholar to detect UofC subscribed resources, refer to Google Scholar setup (in the Natural Sciences Programme LibGuide)
A subset of Google that only indexes academic journals. Pros: searching is very easy - just like for regular Google. Covers journals in many disciplines. Cons: Limited functionality for filtering results. May include some journals of dubious quality.

Libraries & Cultural Resources

Research Guides

BUSN - Writing and Presenting

Scholarly sources