LAW Canadian Cases and Decisions
This guide is intended to help researchers locate cases and decisions and provide links to sources for Canadian Federal as well as Alberta and the other provinces and territories case law.
OTHER COURTS WEBSITES
Some provincial and territorial courts may make judicial decisions available through their own websites. Others provide links to CanLII for searching. Commercial databases like Westlaw and Lexis Advance Quicklaw also are a source to find judgements and decisions.
BRITISH COLUMBIA
- Bristish Columbia CourtsCanLII
- Courts of British ColumbiaIncludes Court of Appeal and Supreme Court judgements
- Provincial Court JudgementsAvailable through CanLII
- The British Columbia ReportsA law report series that was first published in 1884 by the Law Society of British Columbia, with judgments dating back to 1867. The series ceased publication in 1948. This collection includes the full text of all decisions published in the series.
- Unreported DecisionsMay be ordered from the British Columbia Courthouse Libraries
SASKATCHEWAN
- Saskatchewan CourtsCanLII
- Saskatchewan Law CourtsIncludes Provincial Court, Court of Queen's Bench and Court of Appeal
MANITOBA
- Manitoba CourtsCanLII
- Manitoba Law CourtsIncludes Court of Appeal, Court of Queen's Bench and Provincial Court judgements
ONTARIO
- Ontario CourtsCanLII
- Ontario Law CourtsIncludes Court of Appeal for Ontario, Superior Court of Justice and Ontario Court of Justice
QUEBEC
- Quebec CourtsCanLII
- The Courts of QuebecIncludes Court of Appeal, Superior Court, the Court of Quebec and Human Rights Tribunal
- Decisions des Tribunaux et Organismes de QuebecWebsite searches for judgments
NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR
- Law Courts of Newfoundland and Labrador-The Supreme Court is composed of the General Division, Family Division, and Court of Appeal
-The Provincial Court is composed of Adult Criminal, Youth, Small Claims, Family, and Traffic Divisions
-Decisions available through CanLII
NOVA SCOTIA
- Nova Scotia CourtsCanLII
- Law News OnlineNova Scotia Barrister's Society. Updated to 2012
- Decisions of the Courts of Nova ScotiaIncludes probate and small claims court
PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND
- Courts of Prince Edward IslandDecisions linked through CanLII
NEW BRUNSWICK
- New Brunswick CourtsCanLII
- New Brunswick Court IndexJustice and Attorney General
NORTHWEST TERRITORIES
- Northwest Territories Law Courtswebsite includes the Court of Appeal, Supreme Court, Territorial Court, Youth Justice Court and Justice of the Peace Court
- NWT Court Library System Judgment DatabaseDepartment of Justice
YUKON
- Yukon CourtsCanLII
- Yukon Law CourtsIncludes territorial and small claims court
NUNAVUT
- Nunavut Court of JusticeLinked through CanLII
ADMINISTRATIVE BODIES
Officials, Agencies, Boards, Commissions and Tribunals often make their decisions available through their own websites. .The Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII) also makes decisions from some boards accessible for free on the internet.
- CanLIICanadian Legal Information Institute is a free resource, containing comprehensive coverage of case law and legislation for all Canadian jurisdictions.
- WestlawNext Canada(U of C access only) Contains full-text of court cases from all Canadian jurisdictions, as well as decisions from many administrative boards and tribunals. Coverage varies between courts.Westlaw includes nearly 15,000 databases and over 700 full text law reviews.
- WestlawNext Canada (UofC Law School only)WestlawNext includes nearly 15,000 databases and over 700 full text law reviews.
- Lexis Advance Quicklaw(UofC Law School only.)
- Last Updated: Sep 21, 2023 8:29 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/Canadiancases
- Print Page