Skip to main content

Chemical and Petroleum Engineering

A guide to finding books, articles, and technical information for your coursework in chemical and petroleum engineering.

Engineering Journals

 

A journal is a regular publication that contains articles by researchers and professionals working in a specific field. To find articles on your topic, you need to search an article database that covers your subject area. On the right is a list of article databases relevant to chemical and petroleum engineering.

Best databases for Chemical and Petroleum Engineering

This are listed in order of relevance to chemical and petroleum engineering. You may also want to check out of full list of Engineering databases and Chemistry databases.

Compendex        
Comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database covering journal articles, technical reports, and conference papers and proceedings over the entire spectrum of engineering. 

OnePetro        
The complete library of Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) publications. NOTE: SPE does not allow our other databases to link to their content. That means if you find a reference to an SPE publication in another database (like Compendex), there will be no indication that we have it. Just remember that if it's published by SPE, it should be in here; you just need to go into OnePetro and search the title.

SciTech Connect (Formerly Energy Citations Database)
An index of energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Science and Technical Information. 

GeoRef 
GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1669 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Useful if you need to search on petroleum geology.

Contact Us

Email: gallaghe@ucalgary.ca

Telephone: (403) 220-6042