BUSN - Data Visualization
Includes links to data visualization software, books, articles, tools, tutorials and a blog.
What is Data Visualization?
Information or Data Visualization goes beyond presenting information as static charts, graphs and maps by leveraging the power of computer interaction to help people analyze, understand and make decisions from data. Many different companies including Google, Microsoft and IBM offer Information Visualization tools. Individuals, companies and governments use the tools for research, analyses and strategic planning. (Georgia Tech Library, Georgia Tech, http://cs4460infovis.wordpress.com/)
Video created by UBC
Visualization Tools in our Business Databases
Ask Business Library staff for help with your business visualization needs!!
Passport database *-An online business information system that provides business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to statistics, market reports, company profiles and information sources. Coverage is global, more than 200 countries are researched.
Visualize data through the Dashboards option
* access available to U of C students, faculty and staff only
Bloomberg database*- An online financial service that provides quotes and technical analysis of U.S. and international securities. Bloomberg also provides company, industry, market news and historical economic data from sources such as the International Monetary Fund (IMF).
S&P Capital IQ database*- The database combines deep global company information and market research with powerful tools for fundamental analysis, idea generation, and workflow management.
* Capital IQ is available on select computer stations in the Business Library and Finance Trading Lab (card lock access).
Thomson Reuters Datastream*- A comprehensive economic and financial time series database. With access to historical financial content, you can investigate the correlations and relationships between global economic indicators and various asset classes.
* Datastream is available on select computer stations in the Business Library.
- Last Updated: Feb 27, 2018 2:06 PM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/data_visualization
- Print Page