Skip to main content

BUSN - Real Estate

Provides links to databases, associations, research on the open web, statistics and more for both residential and commercial real estate.

What is a REIT?

A Real Estate Investment Trust (REIT) is a company that owns and, in many cases, operates income-producing real estate such as apartments, shopping centres, offices, hotels and warehouses. Some REITs also engage in financing real estate. The shares of an REIT are freely traded, usually on a major stock exchange. (Source: National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts). REITs are required to comply with applicable securities legislation and stock exchange rules.


IBISWorld USA (U of C authentication is required off-campus)

  • Database includes profiles on real estate appraisal, commercial real estate, reits, real estate sales & brokerages, apartment rental, apartment & condominium construction, housing developers, prefabricated home manufacturing and more.

Thomson ONE database (U of C authentication is required off-campus) (Use Internet Explorer as a browser)

  • This database provides analyst reports on companies involved in the REIT industry as well as reports at the industry level such as "Canadian REITS Monthly", "The REIT Review", "Canadian Property" and more. See instructions for an industry search and input REIT into the title search box.
     How to: An introduction to Thomson ONE

Real Property Association

  • Canada's senior national industry association for owners and managers of investment real estate

National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts

  • U. S. organization; includes statistics, data & research, investing information, policy issues and more.
Loading ...

Print Page