Note if the book you want is out on loan - you can place a hold and get it back within about a week.
ebrary is a collection of over 30,00 books - while each book is listed in the library catalogue under author/title and subject, if you search within ebrary you will be able to search the full-text.
To locate ethnographies in the library search box , add "ethnographic study" to your search. For example - "war AND ethnographic study"
A few examples of digital sources of ethnographies include:
Often it can be helpful to get an overview of your topic and/or definition of terms. The overview can also help identify key books and articles in your topic area. Key resources for research on anthropology of war include titles such as:
Encyclopedia of trauma (located in print in the reference collection) contains an entry on Anthropology and War.
Armed Conflict Database - great source for detailed background information and links to documents.
Finding Articles and Papers
If you go to the find articles link found in the tabs at the top of the page, you will find links to sources that are useful for research in anthropology. For this course you may find that literature of political science, history, sociology, strategic studies etc is also helpful. Consult Search Collections for a listing of databases by subject.
Here are some key sources for locating academic articles and papers on anthropological perspectives on armed forces:
Web of Science - good general guide to scholarly journal literature in all subject areas. Does not contain fulltext but through SFX links can often quickly retrieve fulltext of the work
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Google Scholar - good source to pull resources from a variety of disciplinary areas
Research Centers and Institutes such as DCAF (Centre for security, development and the rule of law) produce papers on a variety of relevant topics.
Note the main search box on the library home page will also link you to articles on your topic.
What is Summon?
Summon is a search engine that searches the collections of Libraries and Cultural resources for books, journal articles, manuscripts, works in the collection of the Nickle Arts Museum, archival material and locally digitized collections on your topic.
Note not all the library databases (for example ehraf) are currently searched by Summons.
- Government Information - also remember to check the web for sites for relevant government departments such as Department of National Defence and Canadian Forces
- Private Centres and Research Institutes - Centres such as the Yad Vashem (videos of the Eichmann Trial) can be great sources of primary documents.
- Last Updated: Jul 12, 2018 3:27 PM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/anthropology
- Print Page