Skip to main content

New library search launched! View new library borrowing privileges »

Greek and Roman Studies

Works by Classical Authors

Use the Library search box  to locate specific texts held by the library.  (Hint:  Search "author: Homer" to limit to works by the author).  

In our collection we  have a number of digital collection of classical texts:

Loeb Classical Library  - Greek and Latin texts with English translation

Library of Latin Texts   -  Series A  has  over  3,00 Latin works from Antiquity to the twentieth century and  Series B  has 300 texts.

Migne's  Patrologia Latina

Migne's Patrologia Graeca  (Greek and Latin) -   see also  Complete listing of volumes in this series - includes many links to full text

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae  -  Greek and some English translation -  this tool has "collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era."  Selected content available free online (note need to register first).  Can also search and browse a listing of the canon of works.

We also hold  print copies of  Collections des universites de France (Bude)  and Sources chretiennes which provide French translation of classical texts.  

 

Freely available resources include:

Ancient Greek and Latin Texts digitized by Google

Chicago Homer  - English and Greek translations of the Iliad and the Odyssey.

Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum  -  Latin text and links to other sources of the Latin text

Greek and Latin Texts with Facing Vocabulary and Commentary by Geoffrey Steadman - includes works by Plato (Symposium, Republic I, CritoPhaedo)   Herodotus (I and 7), Homer (Iliad 6 and 22, Odyssey 6-8 and 9-12) , Lysias (I), Sophocles (Antigone, Oedipus), Euripides (Medea), Caesar (Gallic War 1 and Vergil's Aeneid) , Cicero (1st CatilinarianSallust), and Xenophon (Anabasis Book 1,3,4)

Internet Classics Archives(created by Daniel Stevenson)  -  English translations of selected texts and some links to other sources of the text.

Internet Archive  -  Over 15 million public domain texts including the works of many classical authors.   Search classical author name and then limit results to the name in the  "creator" field .  Remember to use variant forms of name  (Homer and Homerus).

Loebolus  -  pdf's of public domain volumes in the Loeb Classical Library Series.  Loeb has the Greek or Latin text with English translation

Lexundria -  digital library of classical texts in English translation.  When there is more than one edition can see comparison of each translation.

PHI Classical Latin Texts  -  Latin text

Perseus Digital Library   -  Greek or Latin text with English translation

Roman Law -  incudes fragments of the Corpus Iuris

 

 

 

NOTE : 

Répertoire des sources philosophiques antiques  -  provides an index to where texts of ancient Philosophers have been published.

Print Page