Greek and Roman Studies
Background Information
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society
Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World - Location
Oxford Classical Dictionary (3rd ed.) - 4th edition - 4th edition also available in print - Location
Voices of Ancient Greece and Rome: Contemporary Accounts of Daily Life
Women's Life in Ancient Greece and Rome: a source book in translation - Location of print copy
Finding Articles on Women in the Ancient World
Diotima - " includes course materials, the beginnings of a systematic and searchable bibliography, and links to many on-line resources, including articles, book reviews, databases, and images."
JSTOR - fulltext for a number of key journals for Greek and Roman Studies
L'Annee Philologique - major index to journal articles and essays in Classical studies
Women in the Ancient Near East - bibliography of books and articles (last revised 1998)
Works by Classical Authors
Use the Library search box to locate specific texts held by the library. (Hint: Select advanced search and limit search to author field)
In our collection we have a number of digital collection of classical texts:
Loeb Classical Library - Greek and Latin texts with English translation 
Library of Latin Texts - Series A has over 3,00 Latin works from Antiquity to the twentieth century and Series B has 300 texts.
Migne's Patrologia Graeca (Greek and Latin) - see also Complete listing of volumes in this series - includes many links to full text
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae - Greek and some English translation - this tool has "collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era." (note need to register first). Can also see a listing of works without signing in.
We also hold print copies of Collections des universites de France (Bude) and Sources chretiennes which provide French translation of classical texts.
Freely available collections of classical texts include:
Ancient Greek and Latin Texts digitized by Google
Chicago Homer - English and Greek translations of the Iliad and the Odyssey.
Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum - Latin texts and links to translations
Greek and Latin Texts with Facing Vocabulary and Commentary by Geoffrey Steadman - includes works by Plato (Symposium, Republic I, Crito, Phaedo) Herodotus (I and 7), Homer (Iliad 6 and 22, Odyssey 6-8 and 9-12) , Lysias (I), Sophocles (Antigone, Oedipus), Euripides (Medea), Caesar (Gallic War 1 and Vergil's Aeneid) , Cicero (1st Catilinarian, Sallust), and Xenophon (Anabasis Book 1,3,4)
Internet Classics Archives(created by Daniel Stevenson) - English translations of selected texts and some links to other sources of the text.
Internet Archive - Over 15 million public domain texts including the works of many classical authors. Search classical author name and then limit results to the name in the "creator" field . Remember to use variant forms of name (Homer and Homerus).
Loebolus - pdf's of public domain volumes in the Loeb Classical Library Series. Loeb has the Greek or Latin text with English translation
Lexundria - digital library of classical texts in English translation. When there is more than one edition can see comparison of each translation.
PHI Classical Latin Texts - Latin text
Perseus Digital Library - Greek or Latin text with English translation