LAW Indigenous Peoples & the Law
This guide is intended to help researchers locate cases, legislation, commentary and databases on Indigenous Peoples and the Law.
General Legal Databases
A list of suggested keyword terms for your database searches is found in the "Where to Start" tab of this guide. These resources can also be found under Legal Databases on the Bennett Jones Law Library's website.
Online Resources specifically useful for legal research include:
- CanLII This link opens in a new windowCanLII, is a non-profit organization managed by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada to provide Open Access, freely accessible primary legal material, including court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowContains the full text of numerous legal journals and monographs, U.S. government documents, foreign and international law materials, legal classics, world trials and more.
- Lexis+ Canada This link opens in a new window
- Available to Faculty of Law students only
- Password access only
Content includes Canadian, US, UK, international and foreign legal materials, and Practical Guidance. - Westlaw Edge (UofC Law School only) This link opens in a new windowFaculty of Law students and faculty may obtain an individual password.Westlaw Edge is a full text and indexing database that provides access to a variety of law and finding tools. It includes Canadian statutes and regulations, reported decisions from Canadian courts and tribunals, Canadian law journals and law reviews. Westlaw includes nearly 15,000 databases covering most US primary and secondary legal materials and legal research tools. It also includes over 700 full text law reviews and has legal material from the UK, Australia and the EU.
- Westlaw Canada This link opens in a new window
- Access to subscribed content only
Platform for database products published by Thomas Reuters Canada. Includes primary sources, commentary, court documents, forms and precedents, and finding tools. Full text source for Canadian law resources. Includes the Canadian Abridgement Digests and Canadian Encyclopedic Digest; cases (reported and unreported), commentary, legislations, journal articles covering the areas of general law, family law and criminal law.
Finding Case Law
Depending on your research, you will need to find cases. The Bennett Jones Law Library's Legal Databases, Canadian Cases and Decisions, and Foreign Cases and Decisions pages will assist you generally. The Courts page is divided by jurisdiction. Some places to search for cases include:
- HeinOnline(U of C access only) Contains the full text of numerous legal journals and monographs, U.S. government documents, foreign and international law materials, legal classics, world trials and more. The following Collections and Titles are available: Canada Supreme Court reports, Code of federal regulations, Early American case law, English reports, Revised statutes of Canada, Statutes of the realm, Treaties and agreements library, United States code, U.S. federal legislature history library, U.S. presidential library, U.S. statutes at large, U.S. Supreme Court library and World constitutions illustrated.
Here is a list of topical resources to find Indigenous case law:
- Indian Specific Claims Commission (ISCC)The Indian Specific Claims Commission (ISCC) - also known as the Indian Claims Commission - was created in 1991 under the federal Inquiries Act. The primary role of the ISCC was to provide an alternative to the courts for First Nations.
- Landmark CasesBritish Columbia Ministry of Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation.
- Legal Decisions Dealing with First Nations in CanadaSimon Fraser University
The full text of Supreme Court decisions is linked from Lexum. - Metis Settlements Appeal TribunalHearing DecisionsThe Appeal Tribunal deals with land and membership disputes. MSAT also amends right of entry orders and settles compensation disputes for oil and gas activities on Settlement lands.
- Last Updated: Sep 21, 2023 8:29 AM
- URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/aboriginallaw
- Print Page