These resources provide benchmark financial data and ratios for companies by industry.
S & P Capital IQ
Available only at Business Library on Stations 13, 14 and the Reference desk. The database provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide. Company ratios are available in the Financials section.Industry ratios are found in the Key Stats and Ratios area of the industry report.
The S&P Capital IQ platform combines deep global company information and market research with powerful tools for fundamental analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. The web and Excel-based platform provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide.
See the following Statistics Canada tables for benchmark financial data and ratios by industry:
1. Table 187-0001: Quarterly balance sheet and income statement, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), quarterly (Dollars) at the Canadian level
2. Table 180-0003: Financial and taxation statistics for enterprises, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), annually (Dollars) at the Canadian level
3. Table 187-0002: Quarterly statement of changes in financial position, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), selected financial ratios and selected seasonally adjusted components, quarterly (Dollars) at the Canadian level.
Key Business Ratios provides access to competitive benchmarking data. Industry benchmarks are compiled from D&B's database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of business. Contains industry balance sheet and income statement information along with ratios organized by SIC codes.
(Open Access) This is an excellent resource from the Government of Canada that provides entrepreneurs with access to reliable, up-to-date and relevant information to help them start and grow their business. Provides extensive information on starting a business.
(Open Access) Includes information on grants, loans, or other form of financial aid available from the Canadian government. The Business Resources Centre provides a collection of Canadian small business articles, funding tips, business plan outlines and more. Also includes an interactive grant finder.