BUSN - ENTI 317

This research guide is designed to provide authoritative sources of information that will be helpful for your ENTI317 project.

What is Secondary Research

"Secondary research does not present new research but rather provides a compilation or evaluation of previously presented material." (University of California Berkeley Library)

These sources report, analyze, discuss or interpret primary research.

Examples include:
- Journal articles that summarize research or data
- Magazine articles
- Encyclopedia entries
- Textbooks

Finding Secondary Sources

Find Books:

Use the Search box on the Library homepage to search for books, ebooks, articles and more:

As an example, Choose "Advanced Search": SUBJECT: mobile application development

You can choose to limit your Item Type to books, articles, etc.

Find articles:

The most comprehensive search for articles in journals, trade/industry publications, magazines and news sources, is performed using databases which index articles from thousands of periodicals. These databases may be searched using keywords to find articles related to your topic.

Some of the best business databases to search are:

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source® Complete contains far more active, peer-reviewed, business related journals than any other database currently available. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals.
- This product supersedes Business Search Premier.
ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI / Business Premium Collection) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business is an intuitive and comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. Designed to help business researchers balance theoretical and practical learning, and acquire research skills that will make them successful in their courses and careers. ProQuest One Business content includes: company, industry, and country reports from providers such as Fitch Solutions and Economist Intelligence Unit, and in-depth analyst reports from J.P. Morgan; scholarly journals and ebook coverage from hundreds of publishers; full text of the three major global business news sources: The Wall Street Journal, the Economist, and the Financial Times; and a robust collection of videos.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
Web site provides access to Gartner's in-depth market research reports on information technology, product descriptions and comparisons, information on trends, and a calendar of upcoming conferences and events for IT managers, specialists, and business interests. Includes events and webinars. Can be personalized.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- Access to subscribed content only
ScienceDirect is a database of peer-reviewed scholarly literature containing over 3,800 journals and more than 35,000 books. Disciplines covered include physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.
- Due to license restrictions, access is limited to 6 simultaneous users.
- Interface in English, German, French or Chinese; contents in 22 languages.

Last Updated: Mar 28, 2024 11:47 AM
URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/enti_317
Print Page

Subjects: Business

Tags: enti, enti 317, enti317, entrepreneurship, innovation, new_business_venture, new_venture, small_business

Libraries & Cultural Resources

Research Guides

BUSN - ENTI 317

What is Secondary Research

Finding Secondary Sources