Search in the big search box to find both books and articles. You can search by author, title, or keywords such as "internet privacy." To limit to just books, look at the limits on the left of your results screen, and select "Books/ebooks" under "Content Type."
Searches millions of digitized books. The easiest way to find books or book chapters on a topic. You won't be able to see the full text due to copyright, but you can search the title on the UofC Library web site or Calgary Public Library to find a copy to borrow.
Databases (search engines) for locating scholarly articles
Academic Search Complete provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and a total of more than 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Google Scholar, July 13 2017
It appears that Google is now requiring a Google Account to select a preferred library when not on campus.
To select University of Calgary as a preferred library:
If you already have an account with Google, click "Sign In" at the top right of the screen, and log in on the next screen.
If you do not have an account with Google, create a free one at the top right of the screen.Click "Sign In" at the trop right of the screen, and then create a free account using the link directly above the log-in box, and then "Sign In" as above. Note: This does not require that you have a Gmail email account.
Once you are logged in, click on "Settings" at the top right corner. If this is not shown as an option, click on the "gear" icon at the top right corner for Options.
Click on "Library Links" on the left side of the page. If "FindIt @ U of Calgary" is not listed as an option, type Calgary into the box and search for the university. Once it has been located through the search, click the checkbox for "FindIt @ U of Calgary" and any other libraries you wish to designate (up to a maximum of 5).
When you are done making these and any other changes to your "Scholar Settings", click the "Save" button at the bottom right corner.