Visit the University of Calgary Library Homepage and click "Databases" under the search bar or "Research" in the navigation bar.
To access other Library Research Guides related to your topic, select "Research Guides" from the side bar.
Once you arrive in the Database catalogue, navigate by browsing or searching.
An Example Database Search
Let's say that we are searching the Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) database. Follow these tips when searching your topic.
- Use Boolean operators, truncation, and Subject Headings to control your search.
- Identify whether "Peer Reviewed" or "Journal Publications" are necessary to your search
- Determine the date range of your research.
- For example, a historical comparison requires older and current articles.
- Keep your terms broad to obtain more results and use filters and additional terms to reduce in stages
- Some databases will not have Boolean operator tabs. Simply enter your search with quotation marks and capitalized operators in a 'string'
- For example, ("Cree" AND "Language" AND "Education")
- Look for i symbols or "tips" buttons for more information in each database
Control your results with filters, build a citation list, and find additional terms in the results page
Browsing and Saving
- When browsing articles, use preview or abstract to quickly identify concepts.
- Choose source material based on abstracts and read articles in their entirety later.
- When selecting an article, save whole article to personal device or create links document containing titles and stable link.
- Remember that some links only work when logged in, so always record journal and title with links.
- Helpful hint! It saves time to cite to a document on a working page when you find an interesting document. Edit or delete citations when editing, rather than finding citations after your paper is completed.
- Last Updated: Jul 2, 2020 1:32 PM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/indigtopics
- Print Page