Skip to main content

COVID-19 update: New COVID-19 communications protocols, campus non-medical mask protocol

Limited Computers (29) and Study Spaces (45) on the 1st floor of the TFDL are available and must be booked. Book here.

We are now offering contactless pickup. Place requests for materials that you want from our library system. Pick them up when you receive an email.

Virtual service hours today: 9:00 AM to 6:00 PM.10:00 AM to 4:00 PM. You can return your books to the exterior book drop on the East side of the TFDL. More information on the Covid 19 page.

Indigenous Topics


Indigenous Peoples: North America (IP North America)

“Indigenous Peoples: North America (IP North America) sources collections from across Canadian and American institutions, providing insight into the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth into the twentieth century. Including diverse manuscripts; book collections; newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations; materials such as Bibles, dictionaries and primers in Indigenous languages all enable students' examination of important primary source materials.”

  • To access the database visit http://library.ucalgary.ca/ and find the “Indigenous Peoples” database under the “Research” tab.

This guide is to provide information on the Indigenous Peoples: North America database and how to search for resources.

Each page within this guide is designed to explain what the database contains and how it may be useful in research.

Searching the Database
  • Search Bar

  • Term Frequency

  • Term Clusters

  • Results Navigation

Resources in the Database
  • Historical Videos

  • Manuscripts

  • Monographs

  • Photographs

  • Reports/Records

  • Newspapers

Print Page