Skip to main content

COVID-19 update: New COVID-19 communications protocols, campus non-medical mask protocol

Limited Computers (29) and Study Spaces (45) on the 1st floor of the TFDL are available and must be booked. Book here.

We are now offering contactless pickup. Place requests for materials that you want from our library system. Pick them up when you receive an email.

Virtual service hours today: 9:00 AM to 6:00 PM.10:00 AM to 4:00 PM. You can return your books to the exterior book drop on the East side of the TFDL. More information on the Covid 19 page.

Indigenous Topics

Edward Cook Linguistics Work

 

Ed Cook Fond

"Dr. Eung-Do (Ed) Cook (PhD Linguistics U Alberta 1968) is a leading specialist in Canada?s indigenous languages and phonological theory. He joined the academic staff at the University of Calgary as an Assistant Professor of Linguistics in 1969, rising to the rank of Associate Professor in 1972 and to full Professor in 1975. From 1976-1985 he was Head of the Department of Linguistics. Building on the work of Edward Sapir, Father Morice, and Fang-Kuei Li, Dr. Cook compiled a large amount of raw data on First Nations languages -- Tsuut?ina (Sarcee), Dëne S??iné (Chipewyan) and Tsilhqot'in (Chilcotin) in particular -- which he has described and analyzed in numerous books, articles and conference papers. For his accomplishments he has been awarded many academic honours, including two Killam Fellowships, an annual fellowship with the Calgary Institute for the Humanities, the Canadian Ethnic Studies Senior Fellowship and the Faculty of Social Sciences Distinguished Research Award. When Dr. Cook retired from the University of Calgary as an Emeritus Professor in 2000, his records were donated to the University Archives. Fonds include audio cassettes, files, and index cards containing invaluable information on endangered First Nations languages, especially Athabaskan ones (Hare, Witsuwit?en, Dakelh, etc.) but also Morley Stoney (Siouan) and Plains Cree (Algonquian)."

  • Fonds consists of sound recordings, files, and index cards containing information on endangered First Nations languages, including Carrier, Cebuano, Chilcotin, Chipewyan (Dene Suline), Kaska, Morley Stoney (Siouan), Sarcee, Tahltan, and Witsuwiten. Amongst the records is a translation of the Chipewyan (Dene Suline) language to English on index cards which has been digitized and is available online. Sound recordings have been migrated to digital format. The fonds has been arranged into two series based on format of records: (1) Textual records and (2) Audio recordings. 
  • Fonds are held by Archives and Special Collections
    • If you wish to view the fonds, please contact Archives and Special Collections at http://asc.ucalgary.ca/contact
    • If you wish to examine the partially digitized collection, visit Archives and Special Collections and browse "Digital Collections"

"Dr. Eung-Do (Ed) Cook (PhD Linguistics U Alberta 1968) is a leading specialist in Canada?s indigenous languages and phonological theory. He joined the academic staff at the University of Calgary as an Assistant Professor of Linguistics in 1969, rising to the rank of Associate Professor in 1972 and to full Professor in 1975. From 1976-1985 he was Head of the Department of Linguistics. Building on the work of Edward Sapir, Father Morice, and Fang-Kuei Li, Dr. Cook compiled a large amount of raw data on First Nations languages -- Tsuut?ina (Sarcee), Dëne S??iné (Chipewyan) and Tsilhqot'in (Chilcotin) in particular -- which he has described and analyzed in numerous books, articles and conference papers. For his accomplishments he has been awarded many academic honours, including two Killam Fellowships, an annual fellowship with the Calgary Institute for the Humanities, the Canadian Ethnic Studies Senior Fellowship and the Faculty of Social Sciences Distinguished Research Award. When Dr. Cook retired from the University of Calgary as an Emeritus Professor in 2000, his records were donated to the University Archives. Fonds include audio cassettes, files, and index cards containing invaluable information on endangered First Nations languages, especially Athabaskan ones (Hare, Witsuwit?en, Dakelh, etc.) but also Morley Stoney (Siouan) and Plains Cree (Algonquian)."

  • Fonds consists of sound recordings, files, and index cards containing information on endangered First Nations languages, including Carrier, Cebuano, Chilcotin, Chipewyan (Dene Suline), Kaska, Morley Stoney (Siouan), Sarcee, Tahltan, and Witsuwiten. Amongst the records is a translation of the Chipewyan (Dene Suline) language to English on index cards which has been digitized and is available online. Sound recordings have been migrated to digital format. The fonds has been arranged into two series based on format of records: (1) Textual records and (2) Audio recordings. 
  • Fonds are held by Archives and Special Collections
    • If you wish to view the fonds, please contact Archives and Special Collections at http://asc.ucalgary.ca/contact
    • If you wish to examine the partially digitized collection, visit Archives and Special Collections and browse "Digital Collections

 


Dr Eung-Do (Ed) Cook English-Chipewyan Dictionary

English-Chipewyan dictionary written on cards, digitized, and arranged alphabetically

Print Page