Skip to main content

COVID-19 update: New COVID-19 communications protocols, campus non-medical mask protocol

Limited Computers (29) and Study Spaces (45) on the 1st floor of the TFDL are available and must be booked. Book here.

We are now offering contactless pickup. Place requests for materials that you want from our library system. Pick them up when you receive an email.

Virtual service hours today: 9:00 AM to 6:00 PM.10:00 AM to 4:00 PM. You can return your books to the exterior book drop on the East side of the TFDL. More information on the Covid 19 page.

Indigenous Topics

Select general databases suitable for research across most disciplines

For more information on how to search these databases effectively, see Database Searching on the home page of this guide


Indigenous Studies Portal

The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.

  • Use buttons in the Turtle on home page to find information according to subject
  • or follow standard database searching strategies to access materials

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Academic Search Complete provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and a total of more than 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

  • Follow standard database searching strategies to access materials

Bibliography of Native North Americans

Indexes monographs, essays, journal articles, dissertations and government publications covering native American topics and issues, including education, anthropology, psychology, political science, sociology, and legal and medical research.

Coverage is of items published from the sixteenth century to the present.


INAC Map Room

In this section, you will find various thematic mapping products on Aboriginal people, communities and initiatives undertaken by the Department. Information is being shown using our web-based interactive maps and/or cartographic static maps available in PDF format for viewing and printing purposes.

 

Print Page